Please Help on Fireplace Choice

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dougummel

Mar 26, 2008
Central IN
Hello. Newbie here in Central Indiana. After doing a bunch of reading, I was wondering if I could solicit some input.

We are currently building a new house and are trying to decide which fireplace to put in. After a bunch of research, we have come up against a question. We are going very energy efficient (Energy Star +) and will have a pretty tight house. Our home will be 3000 square feet on two stories over a full unfinished walkout basement. We will also have an apartment over the garage that will be another 700+ square feet. It will be on the same HVAC loop. Oh, we are doing Geo-thermal too.

Our question is whether a large fireplace will heat us right out of the downstairs. We have a very open floorplan downstairs. The living room (where the fireplace will be) is 15x27 open to the dining room (15x16) open to the kitchen (15x15). 9' ceilings. I want a non-cat fireplace and we have been looking pretty hard at the Montecito (regular or estate?) and the Heat&Glo;Northstar 4500.

Any input on any of our thoughts or random things to consider would be MUCH appreciated.

Thanks!

My initial thinking is that as long as you go to or below about a 2.5 cubic foot firebox, you should be OK.