PLEASE HELP!!!smoke from air intake

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

connsdragboats

Nov 5, 2008
Portland OR. area
Hello everyone!
I am new at this whole thing and at the pellet stove thing. 1st of all I bought a used Turbo Fire 2001 manufactured by Alternative energy Northwest INC. No manual and cant find the answers on the web so I thought I would try here!

Here are the problems we are having: Our house was smokey so my husband replaced the gasket around the door, it was still smokey so we looked around the seals on the pipes and RTV all joints still smokey! we noticed that smoke was coming out the air intake and it was not sucking in. (when holding a flame by it) So my husband spent a couple hours pulling things apart and vacuuming things. Not knowing what he did the smoke stopped and it started to suck lightly again. After burning 3 to 4 bags and my house being really warm it has started again. My husband started the stove for my children and myself this morning and I came down about a hour later and it was smokey. I knew where to look and yes it was smoking again. I shut off the stove and came here to ask for help. Called a local dealer and they told me that they have never heard if this happening.
PLEASE HELP!!! My husband is about to through it out the door and I cant have that it is what I was hoping to use for heat this year because my PUD bill was way to high and we froze all last year. PLEASE HELP!!