Poll. How many pieces per cord?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

chereshorter

Dec 18, 2005
Hi everyone,
I got my new Jotul F400 in October and found this site after my purchase. I find it very informative.

I am new to woodburning. I was wondering how many pieces of wood do you get in a cord? I find that it is very hard to determine how much wood you are getting when they deliver it by truck. The last time I bought what I thought was half a cord and had it delivered, it barely filled my rack and I paid $125.

I have since found a source for oak but I must pick it up myself. I paid $14 for about 20 pieces. Next I paid $20 and got about 40 pieces. Last time I paid $76 to load my SUV and got about 140 pieces. The sizes ranged from 18-20 inches by 6 inch diameter. It filled up my rack and more.
So tell me how many pieces would you estimate that you get for a cord? And, am I getting a good price?

A "cord" of wood is 4' high X 4' wide X 8' long stacked tight before being full seasoned .

cheres said:
Hi everyone,
I got my new Jotul F400 in October and found this site after my purchase. I find it very informative.

I am new to woodburning. I was wondering how many pieces of wood do you get in a cord? I find that it is very hard to determine how much wood you are getting when they deliver it by truck. The last time I bought what I thought was half a cord and had it delivered, it barely filled my rack and I paid $125.