Poplar firewood?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

blthomas

Oct 14, 2006
Culpeper, VA
Being a overall newb, I want to know is Poplar good for burning?

The ad I posted in the wanted section is just a few miles from my house, thinking of starting to pile up some wood to split. It's all been down since March.

Poplar good for burning yes or no? If no I have plenty of down red and white Oak to get from the family farmlands.

Thanks,
Blair

Oak is much better then Poplar, there is nothing wrong with Poplar, it just burns real fast, its good for burning in the Fall and early spring, but Oak is by far more superior for those cold winter nights.

no! not if you have access to oak. it will burn but the btu output is much lower than the oaks.

As my best friend says, "it'll all burn". I wouldn't go out of my way to get it, and I certainly wouldn't pay for it. We have a bunch of poplar trees, they die off in large numbers and have to come down. The wood is not very dense, it's at the very low end of hardwoods. It is like a sponge- it will re-absorb water at an incredible rate. But once dried properly, it will burn just fine. We usually save it for bonfires, but it will do in a pinch if you don't mind loading more often. It also rots quickly, so keep it dry and off the ground.

Thanks guys.

FWIW, I wouldn't be paying for the poplar. If I buy anything it'll be Oak from one of the good ol' boys local.

The Poplar is downed from a guy about 10 miles away who is building a pond. It's in log form.