1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Pre fab fireplace replaced with a wood stove

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by PhilDeez406, Dec 4, 2012.

  1. PhilDeez406

    PhilDeez406 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    I currently have a intertherm pre fab fireplace in our manufactured home that was built in 2004. I am wanting to take out the fireplace because it is EXTREMELY un efficient providing almost no heat to the house. I was wondering if I will be able to use the excisting chimney system from the ceiling support box up, or will need to replace the whole thing? Also I am looking at the US Stove Co. model 2000 to heat a 1800 square foot home? Does anybody have any insight into this stove good or bad, or maybe something better? Thanks for the help in advance.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Dakotas Dad

    Dakotas Dad Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,343
    Loc:
    Central Kentucky
    Picture? Our prefab didn't have any kind of support box, it just sat on top the firplace. It was not rated for a solid fuel appliance in any way shape or form.
  3. PhilDeez406

    PhilDeez406 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    The chimney right now has a rock veneer in front of it so i'm not even sure it has a support box, just assumed i guess. What do you mean a solid fuel appliance?? I'm new to the wood stove world, isn't wood a solid fuel? Thanks for the help. Once I get my wife completely on board (she doesn't want to lose the pretty rock wall) i'll start tearing out the rock wall and get some pictures.
  4. PhilDeez406

    PhilDeez406 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Dakotas Dad I checked out your conversion pictures and I would bet my setup is almost exactly like yours when it comes to the chimney. One question though the sepcs for the us wood stove 2000 call for 25 inch floor protection in the front of the unit. Doesn't that seem a bit excessive? My fireplace now only has about 15 inches in front of it. By the way love the last picture of your two goldens. My golden Riley past away last January, best friend and best dog i'll ever have.
  5. Wood Duck

    Wood Duck Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,040
    Loc:
    Central PA
    Some stoves require a minimum K value to the floor under and near the stove. I don't know if the US Stove 2000 requires a minimum K value or simply a non-combustible floor, but you should verify. This requirement varies between stoves and it might be worthwhile to pick a stove that allows you to use the floor you have with only a hearth pad to cover the flammable flooring.

    I should add that the floor might not be the only thing to think about.
  6. PhilDeez406

    PhilDeez406 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    I would like to use the exsisting hearth pad if I could. Although I think I will have to build it out a bit for the cleareances. As far as K value this is what the book says.
    FLOOR PROTECTOR
    Your wood stove should be placed on a 1 inch, non-combustible surface with a k factor of 0.84. For multiple layers, add R-values of each layer to determine the overall R-value. The R value for the required board is 1.2. The floor protector should be under the stove, twenty-six inches beyond the front and six inches beyond each side of the fuel loading and ash removal opening. If there is a horizontal section of chimney connector, the floor protector should go under it and two inches beyond each side

    What else should I be thinking about for this project? Any help is greatly appreciated.
  7. swagler85

    swagler85 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,195
    Loc:
    NE Ohio
    I have their model 2500 and like it a lot, I have an 1100 sq ft raised ranch so it heats about 2000 sq ft. Stove is in lower level, I can heat the whole house with it but when it gets really cold its running hard to keep the house warm. If I were you I would go with at least the 2500. Always easier to build a smaller fire in a bigger stove than not have enough stove to heat the house.
  8. PhilDeez406

    PhilDeez406 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks for the info swagler, i'll keep that in mind.
  9. PhilDeez406

    PhilDeez406 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    is your stove on a pedestal, or does it have legs?
  10. swagler85

    swagler85 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,195
    Loc:
    NE Ohio
    pedestal, has the ash can in the pedestal that I dont really use. a metal bucket is a lot easier.
  11. swagler85

    swagler85 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,195
    Loc:
    NE Ohio
    I dont know if the dealer you spoke with mentioned it but the ratings for square foot arent really based on a house. Its more or less saying it will heat a room of that size. So a normal situation where you have rooms and the stove isnt perfectly located central to the house will make it a little harder to heat that space as you will lose heat in getting it to the far corners of the house. So a little bigger will help you out, and the price isnt much different for a bigger model.
  12. PhilDeez406

    PhilDeez406 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    We have a 1800 square foot manufactured home all open concept. The stove will be on one end of the house, and the bedrooms at the other. But my wife and I like the bedroom to be what some people would call freezing to sleep so I don't think we will have an issue. I am planning on installing it stradling the corner, how is yours installed and did you have to put in a new hearth and if so what materials did you use?? Thanks

Share This Page