Pressurized water tank bad?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Ratherbfishin

Sep 2, 2009
Southern tier NY
My water pump is "short cycling" from what I have read, the bladder usually goes bad rather to add air. Would you agree? I have no experience with these so I am wondering is it worth it to drain the tank and add air or just get a new tank. I have no idea how old it is as it was here when we bought the house. Showering is a PITA because one second you have pressure and the next you don't.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Steve

How long has it been since you checked the pressure in your tank?

I have to add a few pounds to mine every 6 - 8 months. If you've been a while you just might have a very slow leak.

I have to drain mine then fill it to 27 lbs air. I can't tell you the water settings that mandated that, but that's what I go to because of how my pressure switch is set. (sorry, it's been a while)

pen

If the bladder is bad, you need a new tank, period. Otherwise, you haven't provided much information. Is there a gauge by the tank allowing you to see what the cut-in and cut-out pressures are? You may have a pressure switch adjustment issue, or you may just need to adjust the charge in the tank. Could also be a leak in the system.

Short cycling isn't just an annoyance, but will reduce the pump's longevity if it isn't taken care of.

More information please.

its worth it to try, esp if you dont know if the bladder has ruptured. does water come out of the tire valve? if it does, replace the tank.