Preventing Waterlog

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Tuneighty

Burning Hunk
Oct 11, 2012
SC PA
I have been perusing Craigslist and calling others in the area, just in chance I may get something dry, and more peace of mind for this year. I still have 1.5 cords (having gone through about 1 to date) ready. I have 3 for next year already put up. Its my first year and I am not sure what the stove is going to consume.

So I find an add in CL:

http://westmd.craigslist.org/for/3436827867.html

Seasoned Firewood for Sale !!

Mixed Hardwood - $165.00 per cord
Oak - $185.00 (80% Guaranteed) per cord

1/2 Cords also available.
$50 stacking fee per cord
Delivery is free in Frederick County.
Cash Only Please

All of our wood is well seasoned, cut to approx. 18 inches, split and ready to burn.
Custom cuts upon request.

Call or email today to schedule your delivery.

I decide to email him and ask him when it was split.This was the reply:

Our firewood is split as need to help prevent waterlog.

Needless to say, I will just keep looking.

Haha good one, keep it from water-logging, did you tell him wood isn't a sponge.

Reactions: Backwoods Savage