1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Probably a dumb question about electric hook-up

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by kh395269, Apr 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kh395269

    kh395269 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Loc:
    CT
    Hi, I just received my stove today, but I still have not opened it. My husband asked me if we are going to be able to plug this stove in , or are we going to need to hard wire it. I said I honestly don't know. Can someone let us know? I have outlets at knee level on both sides of the fireplace. Hopefully that will work without looking ridiculous.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Czech

    Czech Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,065
    Loc:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Either way will work, most stoves ship with a plug-in cord. If appearances are an issue, some folks have had luck running the power thru the ash clean-out of the fireplace (if you have one) to the basement, not sure on electrical code or if your stove is even on the main level? An insert looks funny to me if it has plug-in cord going to the nearest outlet, try and hide that if you can imho. Are you installing or is an installer doing it?
  3. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,372
    Loc:
    Kinsman, Oh 44428 Brookfield, Oh 44403
    Make sure you use some type of surge protector.

    Eric
  4. kh395269

    kh395269 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Loc:
    CT
    Thanks Guys. Very true that I don't want some ridiculous looking cord sticking out. Will see what we can do with the ash dump if possible. The surge protector is also a good idea.
  5. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,372
    Loc:
    Kinsman, Oh 44428 Brookfield, Oh 44403
    Not only a good idea but something that will save a $250 board or board plus motor.

    Eric
  6. sylvestermcmonkey

    sylvestermcmonkey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    80
    Loc:
    The Land that Time Forgot
    Some codes specify permanent wiring and a safety switch for motors such as used in a garage door opener, while others specifically prohibit such installations and require a plug and receptacle in lieu of permanent wiring. I don't know of any state or local requirement that would require you to permanently wire your stove.

    As far as using the ash dump, be careful how you propose doing that. A permanently installed extension cord in an inaccessible location is almost certain to be prohibited. On the other hand suitable wiring from a junction box that terminates in a receptacle near the stove is probably OK.

    I agree that hiding the wiring to the extent possible is aesthetically pleasing.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page