Professional Wood Pile Watcher

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mainemac

Mar 10, 2008
Maine
I am new to wood last year, and really am excited about this next year.

This year I find myself just stumbling around the yard gazing at the BTUs
I am getting really good at staring at the wood..
Is this a form of mental illness?

Or should I hire myself as Wood Pile Watcher? Kind of like house sitting...?

Tom

Maybe you could make a time-lapse video so that you can actually see it aging. Then you could watch it 24/7.

mainemac said:
I am new to wood last year, and really am excited about this next year.

This year I find myself just stumbling around the yard gazing at the BTUs
I am getting really good at staring at the wood..
Is this a form of mental illness?

Or should I hire myself as Wood Pile Watcher? Kind of like house sitting...?

Tom
Yes,but only when your away!

Pretty normal for most of us around here...

Just don't start developing "woodpile envy". THAT is a problem that can only be solved by additional wood aquisition. I think once you pass the 5-year-ahead mark, it might be a bonafide disease! :cheese:

Chris

Watching wood dry is a form of meditation, and can be quite therapeutically beneficial to sound mental balance, especially when combined with the appropriate fluid intake. (Always watch responsibly, and have a designated watcher assigned just in case the recommended fluid intake is inadvertently exceeded). %-P Rick