1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Progammable 220V thermostat battery backup

Post in 'DIY and General non-hearth advice' started by dougstove, Oct 13, 2012.

  1. dougstove

    dougstove Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Loc:
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Hello;
    My father-in-law has a winterized cottage with electric back up heat.
    The area suffers frequent power outages and his progammable thermostat loses track of time.

    Does anyone have a lead on a progammable 220V thermostat with battery backup?
    When his current thermostat loses time, it throws off his use of off-peak low price power.
    cheers, Doug

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. raybonz

    raybonz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,205
    Loc:
    Carver, MA.
    http://www.amazon.com/Intermatic-ET8015C-Electronic-Astronomic-Switch/dp/B0039QB182 tie output from T-stat through battery back-up time switch..

    Ray
  3. Highbeam

    Highbeam Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    8,878
    Loc:
    base of Mt. Rainier on the wet side, WA
    Since they got rid of the mercury swtiches, all of the line voltage stats are now battery powered. Just go to the hardware store and buy one. I put programmable, battery powered, 220 volt stats in each of the bedrooms. Nothing special anymore.
  4. dougstove

    dougstove Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Loc:
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Thanks.
    Highbeam: Do you know of any manufacturers? My father-in-law specifically contacted Honeywell, and they do not make units with battery backup.
    cheers, Doug
  5. Highbeam

    Highbeam Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    8,878
    Loc:
    base of Mt. Rainier on the wet side, WA
    I'll have to look at the stat when I get home. They aren't battery backup anymore, they use a battery to provide power to the unit and to switch the line voltage on and off. You probably confused Honeywell with the battery backup thing.
  6. Highbeam

    Highbeam Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    8,878
    Loc:
    base of Mt. Rainier on the wet side, WA
  7. raybonz

    raybonz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,205
    Loc:
    Carver, MA.
    That's a nice t-stat! Not much more than a regular set-back t-stat but each room you will use will need one..According to the specs there is no battery in those T-stats so no back up. I wasn't aware they made those!

    Ray
  8. Highbeam

    Highbeam Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    8,878
    Loc:
    base of Mt. Rainier on the wet side, WA
    That's weird, it stores the programming indefinitely even in a power outage and without a battery. Weird. I would expect most of these to have batteries.
  9. raybonz

    raybonz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,205
    Loc:
    Carver, MA.
    Quoted from manual:
    "Data backup: In the event of a power outage, most settings are saved. Only the
    time must be re-adjusted if the power outage lasts more than 2 hours. The thermo-
    stat will return to the mode that was active prior to the power outage."

    Link to manual here:
    http://tinyurl.com/9q9qcs7

    Ray
  10. woodgeek

    woodgeek Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,577
    Loc:
    SE PA
    non volatile memory and a super cap for the clock.

Share This Page