1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Progammable thermostat for 25 PDVC

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by N.E S4, Feb 9, 2013.

  1. N.E S4

    N.E S4 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    For those that are using a programmable thermostat with their 25 PDVC. Can you please post the make and model of the thermostat and the settings.

    I got a Honeywell RTH63050D it's not working.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Do you mean RTH6350D?

    Did you set it up correctly? Wires from the stove go to R & W terminals.

    Then turn stat down to below room temp. Hit the "ON" button on the stove....red light should come on, but stove should not start.

    Then, turn stat up above room temp....stove should start and then run on Hi-Lo.
  3. N.E S4

    N.E S4 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Yes, that was a typo.

    What about the different setting within the Stat?

    I'll give it another try.
  4. imacman

    imacman Guest

    ;?
  5. N.E S4

    N.E S4 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Heater type, fan switch,?
  6. imacman

    imacman Guest

    You want it set for Heat only.
  7. N.E S4

    N.E S4 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Before I shut the stove of the setting was on 1,3

    Thermostat is hooked up when I turn the temp up on the thermostat, I notice it feeds the fuel at a right rate but the blower speed doesn't go up. This is after the S.U light has gone off, so I decided to turn it to 9,9.

    When I set the thermostat temp above the inside temp the stove should go up to 9,9 automatically, right?
  8. imacman

    imacman Guest

    While it is in SU the stove is running at default of 5-5....that's the normal startup setting.

    When the stat calls for heat, the stove ramps up (or down) to whatever you have it set for on the control panel. If it's 9-9, then the stove will change to that. 9-9 is what Englander recommends on your stove as the stat setting.
  9. N.E S4

    N.E S4 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    I think it's working, but not sure if it's working properly.

    I have the stove set at 9,9. When the stove calls for heat it will ram up to 9,9.

    When it's idling it seem to feed slower, but the blower motor seem to remain at 9.

    What setting is it suppose to be when it's idling?

    I understand thermostat connection should be to R and W. The R connect has a jumper to RC.

    Should I pull out the jumper or keep it there.
  10. Dgopetactical

    Dgopetactical Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    299
    Loc:
    York County, Pa
    The blower speed does not change with a stat, just feed rate. I did not like my stove operation on the stat so I removed it. The only time a stat would benefit me is in the warmer "shoulder" season.
  11. imacman

    imacman Guest

    As Dgopetactical says, the blower stays the same....just the feed changes.

    As for what "setting" it's at while idling, I have no idea....Mike H or the guys at Englander Tech service might be able to help w/ that info, but really, why does that matter? You can't change it AFAIK....it's in the computer software.

    The stat jumper wire between R & RC can be removed.....you're only using the stat for heat.
  12. N.E S4

    N.E S4 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Imacman you've been very helpful, Thank you.

    Now I like to see if I can hook a wi-fi thermostat to it. I need a source for common wire feed.
  13. Thaddius Wenderoth

    Thaddius Wenderoth Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    249
    Not if you buy the Hunter Fan Wi-Fi stat. My avatar is part of a screenshot from the control page. This is what I have and love it. No "C" Wire needed either. $100 at Lowes.

    http://www.hunterfan.com/Products/Thermostats/Universal-Internet-Thermostat---44917/
  14. N.E S4

    N.E S4 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Nice, because I have a Honewell wi-fit thermostat for my central air. I also would like to use it on the stove as well but the stove does not have a C wire.

    If this hunterfan doesn't need a c wire I'm sold.
  15. turbosporsche

    turbosporsche Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    136
    Loc:
    Shelton,ct
    The pdvc does not allow it to be turned off via a stat. You set the fan speed and heat setting to what ever desired temp u like. Then the stat is satisfied the stove goes to heat mode 1 but blower stays the same setting. The Ep-25 stove from englander has the ability to be turned off completly via the stat then turned back on like a normal heating system.

    I wish englander came out with a reprogrammed E-prom chip that users could buy and install that would fix this
  16. Thaddius Wenderoth

    Thaddius Wenderoth Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    249
    No C wire needed. I am running mine without as I do not have one either.
  17. N.E S4

    N.E S4 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    You're the man thank you. Ordering 1 tonight, I was going to buy another Honeywell wi-fi stat.
  18. N.E S4

    N.E S4 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    I took the thermostat off I don't like it. The blower motor is always on 9 which makes no sense to me. The blower should drop or raise with the feed.
    Thaddius Wenderoth likes this.
  19. Thaddius Wenderoth

    Thaddius Wenderoth Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    249
    I agree. I think Englander should change that.
  20. N.E S4

    N.E S4 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    I'm looking at the 25 EPI, I hope the blower will drop with the feed rate. Will email them next week.
  21. Harvey Schneider

    Harvey Schneider Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,164
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    Unless the noise of the convection blower is an issue, there is no reason for the convection setting to change. You do not have to set it on 9, you can set it to a lower number. In theory the higher speed convection blower should improve heat transfer and result in higher efficiency.
    I run my PDVC at heat setting 6 and convection setting 9 with a programmable thermostat regulating the temperature. It heats the area quickly with very little overshoot. My emphasis is on efficiency and, for me, a thermostat is essential.
  22. Thaddius Wenderoth

    Thaddius Wenderoth Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    249
    I always have my convection setting on 9, even when running on 1 heat setting. But I can see with some people that the noise could be an issue.
  23. N.E S4

    N.E S4 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Running the convection motor on 9 all the time is very noisy and it does bother me.
  24. Harvey Schneider

    Harvey Schneider Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,164
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    It doesn't have to be on 9. Pick a blower speed you like and set the heat setting to the same number or one lower.
  25. N.E S4

    N.E S4 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    So basically when it's call for heat the stove will only go up to the feed rate you select. I was told my Englander to set the stove to 9,9. I haven't try to select a lower feed rate and lower fan speed.

Share This Page