Programmable Thermo...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

lightyear

Dec 24, 2010
Maryland
Sorry for the 3rd separate post, but I want all of my questions to be answered, not overlooked.

Harman XXV
what type of programmable stat do you recommend? Any reason why?

I am a teacher, and so is wife. I want to rig it so it turns off during day and fires up around 4 before we get home.

I have a Harmon P68. This is my fourth winter. I did what you are talking about this past week, real easy. I use a Honeywell 1 week thermostat. One setting for all 7 days, that worked best for me. They have other flavors of the thermostat, 5/2 & 5/1/1. The one I bought was $19 at HD. Lowes also caries them. Be careful, as all of the Honeywell thermostats look the same, even though they could be different flavors. I asked a similar question to yours: https://www.hearth.com/econtent/index.php/forums/viewthread/80276/

Tom C.

Just my opinion...but I wouldn't go with the Honeywell. All Honeywell digital (programmable) stats do not allow for temperature swing differential adjustments. I replaced mine with a Lux 9000TS which enables me to set 2.5 swing temp. This prevents the stove from short cycling which was happening to me with the Honeywell because it only has .2 swing differential which can't be changed. The Honeywell acts more like a timer to me which is why I went with the Lux based on many positive reviews on this forum.

gerryger said: