programmable thermostat harman xxv

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Tom D, Oct 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tom D

    Tom D
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Watertown , Wisconsin
    i was wondering how to hook up a thermostat to this stove and does the fire in stove stay in high . or will it adjust the flame
    just the way the room sensor works. i was looking to hook up the sky tech wire less thermostat. or could you tell me
    what you use and how does it work.
     

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. GVA

    GVA
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Waxhaw, NC... Formerly North shore Mass
    http://www.hearth.com/econtent/index.php/forums/viewthread/7790/
    It won't adjust flame it just cuts off the room sensor which tells the stove it's at temp, so the stove in essence will go into maintenance burn and then shutdown unless the temp drops enough and t-stat closes the sensor again.
    for a simulation turn the temp knob to off, then after about 45 minutes turn the knob back on......... That is what your flame will look like
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. djarseneault

    djarseneault
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Eastern Connecticut
    It will also cause a 4 blink error (no room probe) when the thermostat stops calling for heat.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. bubba80524

    bubba80524
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    cheyenne wyoming
    I just put one in for my Harman PC-45 I noticed the programmable thermostat is way too touchy for me. I put it next to a bed room and the stove is in the living room. Probably about ten feet apart from the thermostat and the stove. The thermostat turned on the stove back on less than a minute later after the thermostat hit the right temperature. I realize the cool air from the bed room will move into the living room but the thermostat turns the stove on one or two degrees lower than the setting. The room probe will leave it off longer as it is not as precise. Anyone else have this problem or am I too picky?
     
  5. hossthehermit

    hossthehermit
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes Received:
    533
    Loc:
    Maine, ayuh, by gorry
    Yeah, prob'ly too damn picky. No offense intended.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. Jim H.

    Jim H.
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    43
    Loc:
    N.E. Pa. (Northampton County)
    if you turn the thermostat up to say 80 and put the room temp to 75 or so it will turn the fire down to keep the room temp setting. it will be a high big fire
    up to that point then will lower. i have been experimenting and will let the t stat do the work and it will kick it down also when temp is reached and will
    turn down the blower till it calls for heat again....then it will get the fire going higher and blower kicks back on and so forth.....i like the idea of getting up
    and the heat is already on! hope this makes sense....
    jim
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  7. GVA

    GVA
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Waxhaw, NC... Formerly North shore Mass
    the control board pretty much does the same as you said with no need for the external t-stat..
    fall and spring the stoves tend to cycle more but in the dead of winter mine ran full about 70% of the time and it was set it and forget it
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. Jim H.

    Jim H.
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    43
    Loc:
    N.E. Pa. (Northampton County)
    the t stat is used to have the stove off when not around (working). can't see running it when not home. it does not take long at all to heat
    up the house so far. time and temps will tell however, and i can adjust accordingly. but for now i like having it on about a half hour before i get up
    and about the same before i get home.

    jim
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  9. slink

    slink
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Western NY
    Just remember that the t stat only allows the room sensor to work. The contro; board only "sees" the sensor is active and where ever the end of the sensor probe is located is where the temp is measured. Don't rely on the t stat to regulate the temp if the sensor probe isn't in a good location.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Entire Site copyright © 1995-2016 - email to webinfo@hearth.com
Hearth.com and HearthNet are property and trademarks of Hearth.com LLC Advertising Information