1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Programmable Thermostat

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Tedinski, Oct 17, 2013.

  1. Tedinski

    Tedinski Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    188
    Loc:
    Northwest Pennsylvania
    Hello all!
    I've looked back through posts for what type of thermostat might be best for my pellet stove.

    The Rite Temp and Lux brands are often mentioned.

    I've checked the stats of the Lux brand available at Home Depot. They all say +/- 1 degree F. Which model should I be looking at for a user-definable temperature band? (say 2 degrees, or 2.5?)
    Sorry if this has been covered. I'll get more used to & better at searching as time goes on. :)

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Woody1911a1

    Woody1911a1 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    426
    Loc:
    Marblehead , Ma
    Skytech
  3. Tedinski

    Tedinski Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    188
    Loc:
    Northwest Pennsylvania
    Woo! Skytech's look good, but quite expensive!
  4. DBCOOPER

    DBCOOPER Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Loc:
    Stowe, Pa
    Tedinski likes this.
  5. Cleetussnow

    Cleetussnow Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    148
    Loc:
    Westchester, ny
    Check ebay for skytech. Not as bad there. This is what i have and could not be happier.
  6. Tedinski

    Tedinski Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    188
    Loc:
    Northwest Pennsylvania
    Thank you thank you!
    Home Depot lies. Using the link you provided I see a NUMBER of the Lux units provide "swing control", even though Home Depot lists them as "+/- 1 degree"

    Even the basic units!

    I have learned SO MUCH from these forums. Things I didn't know that I needed to know!
  7. Tedinski

    Tedinski Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    188
    Loc:
    Northwest Pennsylvania
    I'll check it out.

    I think the Lux units will do quite nicely, but if I can find a Skytech for a steal I'll definitely grab it!
  8. imacman

    imacman Guest

  9. saladdin

    saladdin Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    341
    Loc:
    West Tennessee
    The one in my sig. $30 on amazon, 2.25 degree swing. Using on Cab50.
  10. Tedinski

    Tedinski Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    188
    Loc:
    Northwest Pennsylvania
    Well, couldn't ask for a better match then. (same stove even!)
  11. saladdin

    saladdin Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    341
    Loc:
    West Tennessee

    Works like a top. Just keep fresh batteries in it. Once mine got down to 40% according to the stat and would not click the stove on. Replaced batteries and works perfectly. I start with new at beginning of season and will switch once just for the heck of it in the middle of season.

    Location is important. Make sure you sit down and think it through.
  12. jjk454ss

    jjk454ss Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    If your looking for this one, the 1500, it's $19 on clearance at Menards right now. I know menards is regional, but if you have one around it's a great price. I just ordered it for $30 from amazon before I saw it at menards.
  13. Tedinski

    Tedinski Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    188
    Loc:
    Northwest Pennsylvania
    Thanks for the tip... it's a long ways to a Menards for me.
    I checked their website, and they don't sell the 1500E online!
    Thanks for keeping an eye out for me.
  14. reallyte

    reallyte Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    237
    Loc:
    Binghamton, ny
    Beware of the 'a' version of lux tx500/tx1500, the 'a' version is the newest with the swing setting removed.
  15. Tedinski

    Tedinski Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    188
    Loc:
    Northwest Pennsylvania
    That's excellent information!
    I would've been surprised when I got home.
    Thank you!
  16. Tdamico

    Tdamico New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Loc:
    South Kingstown, RI
    So, I've been reading here about programmable thermostats. It sounds like they work well and make adjustments easier. Also sounds like it would be much easier for hubby to use (he's clueless about the stove) when I am not around. Will adding a t-stat alter or void my stove warranty?
  17. reallyte

    reallyte Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    237
    Loc:
    Binghamton, ny
    Adding a tstat should not void any warranties.
  18. briansol

    briansol Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,908
    Loc:
    central ct
    you rmnaual should state that it is compatible or not with it. generally, a millivolt type.
  19. DBCOOPER

    DBCOOPER Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Loc:
    Stowe, Pa
    Whats a millivolt type thermostat?
  20. reallyte

    reallyte Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    237
    Loc:
    Binghamton, ny
    Most common are millivolt. Non millivolt hook up to things like electric registers.
  21. sinnian

    sinnian Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    894
    Loc:
    Limerick, Maine
  22. DBCOOPER

    DBCOOPER Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Loc:
    Stowe, Pa

    It was a retorical question. Since the pellet stove does not have a pilot light to generate the electrical current necessary to operate a non existant gas valve there is no reason for people here to keep saying you need a millivolt thermostat for a pellet stove. If you can run it with a jumper across the thermostat connections you can run it with any thermostat. Its just a switch.

    Millivolt thermostats

    As illustrated in the use of the thermostat above, the power is provided by a powerpile, which is a combination of many thermocouples, heated by the pilot light. This produces little power and so the system must use a low power valve to control the gas. This type of device is generally considered obsolete as pilot lights waste a surprising amount of gas (in the same way a dripping faucet can waste a large amount of water over an extended period), and are also no longer used on stoves, but are still to be found in many gas water heaters and gas fireplaces. (Their poor efficiency is acceptable in water heaters, since most of the energy "wasted" on the pilot light is still being coupled to the water and therefore helping to keep the tank warm). It also makes it unnecessary for an electrical circuit to be run to the water heater. For tankless (on demand) water heaters, pilot ignition is preferable because it is faster than hot-surface ignition and more reliable than spark ignition.)
  23. briansol

    briansol Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,908
    Loc:
    central ct
    a 24 volt thermostat will NOT hook up without some relay action, so your argument is invalid.
  24. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,054
    Loc:
    North Georgia
  25. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,054
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    That reference to +/-1 degree F refers to the accuracy of the thermostat, not it's swing settings, if they are available. Not all thermostats offer swing settings so be careful. Mine in my signature also works very well and can be found occasionally for $19. There is no need for anything fancier IMHO unless you just like to spend money! I DO have a Skytech, which I got from EBay for my Castile since running a wire to it would have be a real PITA.

Share This Page