Proof Pellets Save Money Over Oil?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

terryjd98

Jul 1, 2008
Ontario Canada
For all the people that question if a wood pellet stove saves money over oil I was wondering if this would be proof. I am a pellet stove newbie, have everything but haven't installed the stove yet, should be in this week, doing install myself.
I had an oil fill on Oct. 27 and another fill up today. The thermastate set at 15c = 59F. use electric space heater in family room and upstairs always warmer anyways, I will convert everything to US. I used 369 liters = 97.48 US gallons. Price today was 82.9 cents a liter = $3.73 Canadian Gallon = $3.09 US Gallon. So for 33 days it cost me $305.00 or $9.24 a day. Temp has been hovering in the 39 F daytime to mid to low 20s F at night.
So how does this compare to what pellets have been costing everybody for a months use? I have a feeling that if I was using pellets I would have been around the bag a day mark that everybody says which worse case would have been around $180.00 for the month. This would have been $125.00 savings. How do thse figures sound?

I am not one to over-analyze anything.

I know from past experience it takes 150 gallons of LPG - give or take - to heat my home for a month. The last fill cost about $2.35/gallon. That's about $350/month.

One bag of pellets heats my home for 24+hours. At $5.08/bag, that's $152/month.

It also costs less to run the pellet stove fan than it does to run the furnace blower.

I know it's not a direct comparison to oil, but that's how it works here.

wilbilt said: