Propane Tanks for storage - Questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

antos_ketcham

Mar 5, 2008
So here are the questions -

Can propane tanks be used as storage outdoors (w/glycol) and can they be used as part of an open system?

Pete

Pete Antos-Ketcham said:

Can propane tanks be used as storage outdoors (w/glycol) and can they be used as part of an open system?

Pete

I have no actual knowledge, but that hasn't stopped me yet....

First, if they're outdoors you will have to insulate then very well. In that case, glycol wouldn't be necessary. Good thing, since that much glycol would be pretty expensive. I figured out that I could go all winter without adding heat to my outside storage and it still wouldn't freeze.

Second, propane tanks are steel. I assume that means that they'll rust if exposed to oxygen-bearing water. Open systems provide a continual supply of fresh oxygen. My system is open, but the tank is stainless (half a milk bulk tank). The 'open' water stays in the tank and does not circulate.

Pete Antos-Ketcham said:
Pete