Proper installation of a flue up the chimney?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Electricquad

Dec 2, 2013
New England
I have been renting a house with a wood stove for 3 years now. It is a small Jotul F100. I had previously noticed that some of the smoke that escaped the box when I was getting the fire going would get sucked around the back of the stove and up the chimney. I didn't think much of this, but I finally got curious and shined a flashlight up the chimney. Basically it looks like whoever installed the stove stuffed a fireproof blanket around the flue where it enters the chimney. So my questions are:
1) Should the chimney still be drawing enough to pull the errant smoke in?
2) Is it standard to "seal" around the flue like this?

You need a block off plate. This will help tremendously with your energy bills and the stoves production.

What, exactly, is it that you're calling the "flue"?