Proper Way To Sweep Chimney

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

woodburn

Oct 26, 2007
Long Island, New York
I just bought my own chimney sweep and rods from Lowes for $25. It is a steel wire brush. I will be sweeping my 6" metalbestos class A chimney with it. I can go on the roof and do it from the top, but I have never done this before. Is there a certain way it should be done? Do you just stick it in and go straight up and down a few times? Are you supposed to spin it at all? Is there such a thing as over-scraping? I don't want to cause any damage. Also, one of the sections is a telescoping section. When the brush goes down and hits the inner part of that section, can it hurt it? I know I may sound a bit paranoid here, but like I said, I just don't want to screw anything up!

Also, is the metal brush the best choice for a Stainless Steel liner?

Thanks

The company that installed my SS liner advised me against using a metal brush. I was just a Lowe's today and noticed that they only sell the metal ones. Therefore, I guess I would like to know the answer to your question as well.

I watch with interest, and I can say I had advice, but can't find it, not to use a steel wire brush for a stainless steel liner. I don't even know what metalbestos is.

Bought my brush from a PE dealer and he sold me the stiff nylon. Metal brush will over time damage the stainless steel liner. And the nylon one worked just fine. :)

I found the recommendation I have, it is to use a "poly" brush, e.g., nylon as mentioned by sonnyinbc.