1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Pulling the plug

Post in 'The Boiler Room - Wood Boilers and Furnaces' started by Nofossil, Nov 20, 2012.

1. Nofossil

Nofossil Moderator Emeritus

Loc:
    Addison County, Vermont
    On Sunday, I finally pulled the plug on the controller that I've been using since June of 2006. It's been amazing - never crashed, never failed in any way. Some stats:

First logged data: June 26, 2006 at 4:27 PM
    Last logged data: November 18, 2012 at 1:38 PM
    Data records logged: 11,200,392
    Lines of controller C code: 2765

I've replaced it with a shiny new Version II 'NoFossil Control System' which is very nice, but I still hard a hard time pulling the plug. Must be a pretty hard-core geek to feel sentimental about a computer, but there you have it.

Helpful Sponsor Ads!

2. sloeffle

sloeffle Member

Loc:
    Morrow County, Ohio
    Nofossil,

Did you write and compile the C code ?

Scott
  3. Fred61

Fred61 Minister of Fire

Loc:
    Southeastern Vt.
    Whow Bill. When I saw your title line, I hesitated to open it. I was concerned I would be looking at a suicide note.
  4. stee6043

stee6043 Minister of Fire

Loc:
    West Michigan
    How much do you want for the used unit! Ha. Only kidding, I wouldn't know what to do with it. I can appreciate your sentiment, however.
  5. Nofossil

Loc:
    Addison County, Vermont