Pulling the plug

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Nofossil

Moderator Emeritus
On Sunday, I finally pulled the plug on the controller that I've been using since June of 2006. It's been amazing - never crashed, never failed in any way. Some stats:

First logged data: June 26, 2006 at 4:27 PM
Last logged data: November 18, 2012 at 1:38 PM
Data records logged: 11,200,392
Lines of controller C code: 2765

I've replaced it with a shiny new Version II 'NoFossil Control System' which is very nice, but I still hard a hard time pulling the plug. Must be a pretty hard-core geek to feel sentimental about a computer, but there you have it.

Nofossil,

Did you write and compile the C code ?

Scott

Whow Bill. When I saw your title line, I hesitated to open it. I was concerned I would be looking at a suicide note.

How much do you want for the used unit! Ha. Only kidding, I wouldn't know what to do with it. I can appreciate your sentiment, however.

Nofossil,

Did you write and compile the C code ?

Scott

Yes. Years ago, I released it all as open source. Shockingly, few people were interested in dealing with it at that level. I yielded to popular demand and built a new version, also open source, that became the 'NoFossil Control System'. Some folks here have built their own, and I built a couple batches for sale. There's some risk that it may come back to life, since I found a couple partners who are willing to build boxes.