pump selection and questions.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

warno

Minister of Fire
Jan 3, 2015
illinois
I'm a newbie to all this and would like some help on selecting a pump.

I'm a little confused by the "head" number. I'm thinking that it's the pressure drop in the system but please correct me if I'm wrong. I have been trying to figure out the "head" number of my system.

My heat exchangers combined are just under 10 (based on the paper work for them) but I'm not sure how to figure the value for the pex lines and fittings.

This is the pump I have been looking at http://www.pexuniverse.com/grundfos-ups15-58fc-circulator-pump-59896341

I will have about 150 feet of 1" pex in the system. All sweeping bends maybe 2 or 4 90 degree elbows.

Could anyone help me out? Any help would be appreciated. If any more info is needed let me know.

On the heat exchangers? (Again sorry I'm a newbie) If so I believe it's 8.0 gpm.

Here's a pic of the paper work for the coil. I will have 2 of them in the system.

I guess I forgot to ask this question in my OP. Is it smarter to run the pump 24/7 or just with demand for heat?

Long answer:

If I'm reading it right your WAHX coil is dropping 4.34 ft H20 at 8 gpm.

1 ft H2O pressure drop is 0.4335 psi, and 1 psi pressure drop is 2.306 ft H2O. (Just type "psi to ft h2o" in your web search bar if you forget these numbers.)

So your WAHX will see a pressure drop of 1.88 psi at 8 gpm (4.34 times 0.4335).

Now refer to a PEX pressure drop table like the one found here:

http://s3.supplyhouse.com/product_files/FostaPEX-Submittal.pdf