1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

QF Castile question...

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Shortstuff, Aug 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shortstuff

    Shortstuff Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    461
    Loc:
    Southeastern MA
    Below is a picture of my Castile with the front cast door open as far as it will go. I see no particular reason why it seems to be limited this way, but it would be much easier to clean if it could open more. My second post is another picture that shows where part of the cast door hits a small metal plate which is what is stopping it from opening further. A simple fix would be to cut a small corner of that metal plate off (about a 3/4").

    Does anyone else who has the Castile free-standing stove also have a limited opening of their door? And does anyone see any harm in cutting that corner off to allow the door to open fully?

    Thanks: Steve

    Attached Files:

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Shortstuff

    Shortstuff Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    461
    Loc:
    Southeastern MA
    Second picture:

    Attached Files:

  3. moralleper

    moralleper New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Messages:
    173
    Loc:
    Kalama, WA
    Do the sides open? On my Santa fe I have to open the left side door before I can open the front up all the way.
  4. Shortstuff

    Shortstuff Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    461
    Loc:
    Southeastern MA
    No, the sides don't open.

    Steve
  5. Richardin52

    Richardin52 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Loc:
    A farm in Maine
    I have the same stove and my door opens all the way.
  6. Czech

    Czech Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,065
    Loc:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Ditto to Rich, same stove, door opens all the way. I'll look tonight when I get home, hopefully one of the quad guys will chime in.
  7. Czech

    Czech Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,065
    Loc:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Email a user named "jtp10181", he works at a quad dealership and could probably answer your question quickly, he's been a big help to me (not that others haven't!). Makes me wonder if that tab is installed correctly, you may want to check the blow up diagram in the back of the manual?
  8. Czech

    Czech Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,065
    Loc:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Ok, just looked at my stove. That bracket is also on mine, but only restricts the door at about 100-110 degree opening or so. There is some hardware on that bracket, wonder if you can loosen things up and retighten and gain some space? Again, check out that explosion diagram in the manual to see what your dealing with. If you are thrifty, this stove is pretty straight forward to work on, I think I've basically taken my apart and put it back together again. Make sure your warranty is up, you have a local dealer, and a solid internet connection before you putz!
  9. MainePellethead

    MainePellethead Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    873
    Loc:
    Southern Maine
    I have the Castille as well and my door opens all the way.....no restriction at all.
  10. Shortstuff

    Shortstuff Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    461
    Loc:
    Southeastern MA
    Thank you for all the replies.

    I'll take a good look at her in the morning and reference the drawings in my owners manual. I'll see if I can either move the part out of the way or just cut that corner off. I was just concerned that it might not suppose to open all the way, but now I know it is.

    Steve
  11. High Altitude

    High Altitude New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Loc:
    Colorado
    My castile opens all the way, something is wrong with your stove.
  12. jtp10181

    jtp10181 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,724
    Loc:
    Madison, WI
    The only time I ever get jam ups with the doors is when the glass door jams up the cast door. This happens at like 90 deg though. Definatly something going on here. Check with your dealer if you can;t figure it out.
  13. Shortstuff

    Shortstuff Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    461
    Loc:
    Southeastern MA
    It was an easy fix. I lifted the cast iron top off the stove and that allowed me access to the top hinge of the cast iron door. I opened then lifted the door just enough to support its weight while I lifted the top hinge pin out, then lifted the door off of the bottom hinge pin.

    I then used my Dremel tool to cut out the corner of the metal piece that was stopping the door from opening properly as you can see below. Now it opens all the way as it should.

    Thanks again for all the replies/assistance!

    Steve

    Attached Files:

  14. Czech

    Czech Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,065
    Loc:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Nice job short! I may follow your lead...
  15. High Altitude

    High Altitude New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Loc:
    Colorado
    Good job.

    I looked at my stove again and it appears that the piece you cut is shaped slightly different than the picture of yours before you cut it.

    Looks like the factory didn't cut the part properly to begin with.
  16. slls

    slls Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,457
    Loc:
    central maine Lat 45
    Hard to beat a Dremel.
  17. bobm33

    bobm33 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Loc:
    southeastern ct
    nice job is right. we are getting a castille in a couple of months and i can't wait to check it out. thanks for the heads up.
  18. High Altitude

    High Altitude New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Loc:
    Colorado
    They really are very simple stoves.

    As soon as I got mine home I took off the back and sheet metal sides (on the back of the stove, not the cast iron sides) to have a look.

    Seems to me that they are very easy to work on.
  19. Czech

    Czech Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,065
    Loc:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Yep, they are pretty easy. Just make you have what you need if you make a fix, esp if you are doing something gasketed as the gaskets don't always hold up well if worked on (burn pot, combustion fan, etc). Been there, done that, may just need a dremel to get my burn pot out the fall as I didn't have a gasket and used furnance cement! I hate down time in Feb! Then I'll tell you how to replace the door gasket with the less than $10 cheapy ones, now that was a learning experience....
  20. peirhead

    peirhead Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    365
    Loc:
    PEI Canada
    Hey you Castile owners....how do you like your stoves?...I have one on order but am waffling over switching it to Harman Accentra...(even if I have to wait longer) after reading the owners manual for the Castile.... I am a bit concerned over cleaning issues (must you shut it off and let it cool down every day to clean out the EZ Clean pot.....it seems a bit much)..I don't mind maintenance some other stoves seem to be able to be cleaned as they are in use.

    Also I am interested in the Thermostatic control...it is completely off or on right?....seems to make sense to me to turn down the burn rate when thermostat stops calling for heat rather than turn off the stove completely...I think the Harmans work this way

    any comments on the stove good and bad would be appreciated!!
  21. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    48,033
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    If you are burning clean, premium fuel you shouldn't need to clean it more that once a week. I was lazy with the 1200i and did it every other week. The Castille works with a dependable igniter just like a gas furnace. It turns off and then comes back on when heat is called for. In 5 years of running I never replaced the igniter on the Quad. Some igniters in other stoves have proven unreliable, but Quad has this down. The system works very well.
  22. tonyd

    tonyd Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    270
    Loc:
    Hughesville Md
    Sorry just looking at mine at the moment. Have birds in the chimney and they are keeping me getting the stove installed. I did get to fire it up on the back patio the day I brought it home.(Getting an idea how the stove operates) At 12:30 am, my wife woke me up in my lounge chair and said to come in. Laying in front of the stove put me right to sleep. Works great in august also.
  23. firewarrior820

    firewarrior820 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    265
    Loc:
    auburn maine
    i bought and installed it myself i have it running on a programable t-stat
    also used cci exell 3" type L vent PIPE best pipe available self sealing.
    stove runs great no proplems so far
    castile was abit exspensive 2699.00 just for stove
  24. peirhead

    peirhead Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    365
    Loc:
    PEI Canada
    Nice install....since you are in Maine you see the kind of winter I do on PEI....do you expect to run the Castile mostly on High (with the thermostat turning it on and off when required) or on medium, or low?
    I'd love it if the thermostat could switch it from High to medium (or low) instead of off and on...!!
  25. firewarrior820

    firewarrior820 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    265
    Loc:
    auburn maine
    I expect mostly on high Idon't think it's abig heat producer,like the other models out there.
    i also have another type of heat source
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page