1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

QUAD CASTILE FEED ADJUSTMENT.

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by skidozer, Oct 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. skidozer

    skidozer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Loc:
    western ny
    I have been burning for the last couple nights after install.

    I think my fire is to tall out of the burn pot,on high it has about a 10 inche flame and med its the 6" .
    The flame does not look lazy at all not much black smoke at all.

    The burn pot is clean and holes and fans are clean, I cleaned everything before installing.

    How does the feed rod work. does it move up and down or side to side. It seems to be pushed all the way down. the book is a bit unclear on this

    Or is there a adjustment on the control box like I read in a previous post.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Fish On

    Fish On Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    373
    Loc:
    The other Cape..
    Up towards you will increase your feed.
  3. cncpro

    cncpro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    341
    Loc:
    NE Connecticut, USA
    From the manual...

    Code:
     [url]http://www.quadrafire.com/~/media/Files/Quadrafire/Installation[/url] Manuals/man_castile.ashx
    Link wouldn't work due to spaces in the location... Copy & paste "code" (above) into browser...

    I'm guessing you haven't loosened the set screw ??????
  4. Lineman30

    Lineman30 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Loc:
    Northeastern Oklahoma
    Just curious, what is the factory setting for the cb1200. I'm between the middle and + on the adjustment. I don't remember where the setting was.
  5. cncpro

    cncpro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    341
    Loc:
    NE Connecticut, USA
    Sorry Lineman, I don't recall. I can tell you that I have had it at both extremes at one time or another depending upon the pellets being used and whether I am looking for maximum output or trying to reduce the number of ignition cycles...

    At the moment I am running on low with the trap door only open enough so the stove won't die from lack of fuel... (This is to reduce ignition cycles)

    I'll be nearly wide open in January...
  6. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,047
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    Push the rod all the way to the left for the least flow. Yes, there is a set screw down at the bottom at the slide plate. You have to run the hopper dry to get at it and have an extra joint installed in your arm!
    With the variation in pellets, I can't imagine that there would be a 'factory setting'. Adjusting the feed rod seems to be a necessity for each lot or brand of pellets to get the correct flame height. You have to play with it SLLLL000000WLY.
  7. GIPPER

    GIPPER Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Loc:
    southern ma
    I would say you have bad pellets. Try a bag of hardwood pellets.Hamers,Barefoots,etc.I found Okies,Sprucepoints,etc (softwood) I back it out about a 1/4 inch.I have a 2007 Castille free standing stove.I have burned many diffent types of pellets.Some times you have to pay a little bit more for quality pellets.
  8. cncpro

    cncpro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    341
    Loc:
    NE Connecticut, USA
    There's really nothing wrong with a 10" flame on high. It won't hurt anything to have the flames in contact with the angled baffle plates. I think the OP just has some new-user jitters and there's no better way to get over them than to play around with the adjustment until the user is happy.

    I am not seeing anything pointing to bad pellets here...
  9. skidozer

    skidozer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Loc:
    western ny
    I kind of just wanted to play around with feed a bit.

    I have good pellets Dry Creek recomended by people in my area and looked good on the chart.

    It looks like it is on the min setting for feed rod. I will give it a look when I run the hopper down. I will mark the rod with a sharpie so I can put it back.
  10. Fish On

    Fish On Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    373
    Loc:
    The other Cape..
    That's what I did with a sharpie 2!
  11. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,047
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    Yea, with a 10" flame, it sure isn't bad pellets!!!! %-P
  12. Havlat24

    Havlat24 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    145
    I have a sante fe.... same innards, different outtards... I run mine with the feed adjustment rod all the way down.... so the lowest amount of feed...and I run it on medium... I put the control box at 7 for 10% more heat... and the thing heats like a charm.... When its super cold and If I;m feeling tropical, I may open up the feed a bit...but 90% of time its on the lowest setting... and on medium.
  13. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,047
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    Does anyone know what actually is changed when you switch to the +10% settings on the Quads? All I've seen is speculation of things like reduced combustion fan speed, increased blower speed, or increased feed rate. Feed rate should be pretty easy to measure with a stop watch.

    *HIGH ------- (2.2 SECOND ON TIME)
    *MEDIUM -- (1.6 SECOND ON TIME)
    *LOW --------(0.9 SECOND ON TIME)

    What is your feed time?
  14. ablejoy

    ablejoy Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    250
    Loc:
    Prescott,Northern, Az
    I set mine 1/4" to 3/8" from closed setting flame on high about 6 " I run mine on medium when temps drop in the teens.
    Running on low now to take the chill off.
  15. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,047
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    this summer I was 'exploring' the hopper and feed system and discovered that when 'closed', the plate was still far from closed. Kind of surprising, actually.
  16. GIPPER

    GIPPER Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Loc:
    southern ma
    I,m not sure guys,when my castille is running perfect my flame is about 3 inches above the firepot.The flame will wander up and down a little,but no whay 10 inches.Just my 2 cents.
  17. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,047
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    It really depends a LOT on the pellets. I switched brands and went from closed to full open to get the same flame height and then later back to half open when I was half way through the first ton.
  18. ablejoy

    ablejoy Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    250
    Loc:
    Prescott,Northern, Az
    I was wrong on flame hight just rechecked looks like 3" to 4" on high
  19. Bucktail

    Bucktail Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Loc:
    Maryland
    Bingo! Correct, A change in pellets can have a big impact.
  20. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,047
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    Yea, never assume that the feed adjustment should remain in one place for eternity. Big mistake.
  21. skidozer

    skidozer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Loc:
    western ny
    I have my feed rod in the all the way closed.
    I have a good 4-6" flame on med
    on high it almos touches the baffle.

    Im happy with it just trying to learn more about it.
    I had a bag of pa pellets left from summer that I burn in the fire pit basket I made.
    They dont burn as good as the dry creek and stink more, in fact they make me sneeze.

    They are nice fast flame, not slow and lazy like a tourch with to much accetalyne.
  22. QuadraMick

    QuadraMick New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Loc:
    Morris County NJ
    HI
    Is there a setting to slow down the rate the pellets drop?
    I have a Quad Castille. I set the feed rate all the way down. But the pellets are still coming so fast they eventually over flow the pot before burning.
    I just had the stove and all the pipes and flue scrubbed clean.
    The auger is brand new. That couldn't be the reason could it?

    I see someone above, tjnamtiw, talking about



    How is that stuff accessed on Control Box

    PLEASE
  23. SwineFlue

    SwineFlue Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    605
    Loc:
    NE Pa
    10% is not going to cause an overflow... you have a bigger problem than that.

    IMO, it's either the wrong auger or an airflow problem. Did this problem start with the auger change?
    QuadraMick likes this.
  24. QuadraMick

    QuadraMick New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Loc:
    Morris County NJ
    Oh boy.Wow. That is powerful info.
    So if those are the two most common causes for this it has to be the auger was the wrong one they just put in since the airflow is actually 100% better now than it was before this started.
    Thank you SFlue !!!!!!!
    I will contact the guy who put it in.

    Maybe first I will wait till it cools down and tomorrow I will see if I can identify what kind he put in .
    I couldn't find the correct part myself at first , maybe Quadrafire will have it on their website? or I will contact them.
    Quadrafire Castille 1182225 bought in Dec. 2004

    Most appreciated!

  25. QuadraMick

    QuadraMick New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Loc:
    Morris County NJ
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page