Quadra-Fire Castile Insert - Firepot?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sesro1978

Dec 23, 2008
Vermont, USA
Hi-

Let me begin by saying I'm new to pellet stoves and am still learning. With that in mind I just had a Quadra-Fire Castile insert put in and have noticed that the firepot cleaning rod is a bit tough to pull out initially (the stove has been off for a few hours prior to me doing this in the morning). Is this typical or do I have a potentially "bum" firepot cleaning rod/linkage/etc...? Don't get me wrong, it's not impossible to pull out...just seems difficult (then again, I'm new to pellet stoves so this may be typical of the model).

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks,
Seth

This is a common situation with most every Quadra-Fire stove.

Note I did not say problem.

The fire pot is a cast iron part and the fire pot floor is made out of steel plate. The steel plate heats and contracts at a different rate than the cast part. The steel plate also warps a bit and residues stick to it.

If you use a little down force on the plate when pulling the rod all should be well.

If it becomes a real problem ask you dealer to add a shim for you.

Most of the time this moves freely on my stove. Sometimes I need to give it a bit of help.

Good luck with your Stove.

4124elad said:
This is a common situation with most every Quadra-Fire stove.

Note I did not say problem.