quadra fire classic bay shutting off at night?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

rummy5

Dec 23, 2012
Good morning. Total newbie to heating our home other than with oil, but having a problem at night. We have a separate thermostat set in the 2nd floor hallway (only 5 steps up) from location of stove. Woke up last two mornings in 55 degree house. Stove is not kicking on in middle of night. Is there a recommended heat/blower setting we should have it on? Could our flame level be too low? We did a direct vent right outside. Thermostat works during the day. Any advice would greatly be appreciated.

Is the Red light (call light) still on when the stove is off?

What heat setting are you running on now?

Where is your feed gate? Dis you set the flame height to 4"-6" above the pot, on High, per the manual?

The call.light is the important factor here. Please note whether or not that light is still lit?

We have a separate thermostat for the pellet stove. Our other thermostat is hooked up to the boiler. We have that set at 55.

I think the flame does need to be higher. 4-6 inches above the pot?

Yes the call light is on in the morning, just no flame or heat. We have it set to low heat/low blower at night. Although I believe we had it set on low blower/medium last night.

Thanks again for your help!

How do you start up after the stove has shut down?