Quadra Fire GB40-I DANGEROUS???

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mikrobkirk

Oct 27, 2009
Illinois
Greetings - I am a newbie on here. I have purchased a used 2001 Quadra-Fire GB40-I (Grand Bay Gas Heater/Fireplace Insert). I got the unit for $100 on craigslist and had intentions of converting it from LP to NG. I thought I would try the unit first to make sure it worked on LP before going through all the effort and cost on installation and conversion. I pulled my LP tank off my BBQ grill and hooked it up to the unit. I follow the instructions in the owners manual. I turned the control knob to pilot and pushed the piezo igniter. Man - almost blew the door open. I let the gas clear out and got thinking that maybe the control valve need a regulator before it got to the control valve. So I went to my camper and disconnected the hose with the regulator attached and hooked it up. Turned the tank back on and rechecked for gas leaks and had none. This time I started hitting the piezo ignitor and then turned the gas control valve and push in to pilot position at the same time and it fired up without a big poof. PROBLEM IS - the whole burner assembly comes on - all hot 3 burners - not just the pilot. Once the thermo coupler gets hot it stays on. Not only the pilot stays on, but the burners also. And this is with the gas valve still in pilot position and the pilot button has popped back to the regular pilot position. Then when I turn the valve to the on position everything still stays on. While its burning the HIGH-LOW control knob does not change anything on the flame. It should