1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Quadra-Fire Mt Vernon Pellet Stove won't light

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Mir77, Dec 28, 2012.

  1. Mir77

    Mir77 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    I have a Quadra-Fire Mount Vernon AE Pellet Stove that won't light. Yesterday, I saw a blue burst of sparks when stove was in startup and it hasn't worked since then. Upon removal of the igniter, there was, sure enough, a big hole burned in it. My fiance and I picked up a new igniter and installed it but the igniter is not getting red, and the stove just keeps dropping pellets. Could it be a fuse? Or could the arc have created additional problems? Thanks

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Harvey Schneider

    Harvey Schneider Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,166
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    There is a good chance that the arc damaged the electronic igniter switch on the control board. If it is still under warranty you should contact the dealer.
  3. Mir77

    Mir77 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    The stove was manufactured in 2008. We moved into our house in Nov 2011, and the stove was here. I don't know of any warranty for the stove. Any other suggestions for troubleshooting?
  4. tsmith

    tsmith Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    764
    Loc:
    Kutztown, PA
    Check the ignitor fuse, it may have blown it.
  5. smoke show

    smoke show Guest

    There is an ignitor fuse in the control box.
  6. chimneylinerjames

    chimneylinerjames Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    381
    This may help you:

    Attached Files:

    smoke show likes this.
  7. Harvey Schneider

    Harvey Schneider Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,166
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    Fuses are almost never as fast to burn out as the semiconductors they are intended to protect. I usually think of them as smoke limiting devices.
    Why on earth would they use a 15A fuse on a 380W heater circuit? A 5A fuse would have been more appropriate.
    heat seeker likes this.
  8. Mir77

    Mir77 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Any tips on removing the cover of the control board?
  9. Mir77

    Mir77 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    If this helps, there are no error codes on the thermostat screen and it remains in startup mode when plugged in.
  10. Harvey Schneider

    Harvey Schneider Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,166
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    Check the AC harness from the power supply to the control board for damage. Also check that the circuit track on the power supply next to the AC connector isn't burned out.
  11. tsmith

    tsmith Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    764
    Loc:
    Kutztown, PA
    Try to remove the face plate of the thermostat controller and reinstall it. This resets everything.
  12. Mir77

    Mir77 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    I removed the face plate of the thermostat controller and put it back, but the screen that came up worried me so I unplugged and plugged in the stove. Should I try that again and wait for screen to change?
  13. tsmith

    tsmith Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    764
    Loc:
    Kutztown, PA
    Yes, it is ok it will reset everything. You may need to go through the menu and check your set points
  14. Mir77

    Mir77 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Ok I removed it and put it back but it didn't change anything. Igniter still won't fire.
  15. tsmith

    tsmith Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    764
    Loc:
    Kutztown, PA
    Did you check the fuse?
  16. Mir77

    Mir77 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    I couldn't find it. Do I have to remove the cover on the control box?
  17. smoke show

    smoke show Guest

    yes all fuses are internal.
  18. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,372
    Loc:
    Kinsman, Oh 44428 Brookfield, Oh 44403

    If the igniter is damaged, replace it.

    Eric
  19. Mir77

    Mir77 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    We replaced the igniter. That was the first thing we did.
  20. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,372
    Loc:
    Kinsman, Oh 44428 Brookfield, Oh 44403
    call your dealer, I bet your computer is fried.

    Eric
  21. hooter04

    hooter04 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    When you say computer,do you mean the control board itself?
  22. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,372
    Loc:
    Kinsman, Oh 44428 Brookfield, Oh 44403
    part number SRV7000-456 retail $678.00
  23. Harvey Schneider

    Harvey Schneider Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,166
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    Fried is a rather strong term. An electronics tech should be able fix that control board for a lot less than $678. The line Voltage section of that board is probably well isolated from the rest of the controls.
    It could just as well be that the link between connectors on the power supply board is burned and can be restored, but I would bet on the triac on the control board being shorted.
  24. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,372
    Loc:
    Kinsman, Oh 44428 Brookfield, Oh 44403
    I wish I could help more but I my nickname is not "Sparky" so soldering is not my number one skill. Call your dealer and see if the stove is under warranty. Remember that computer is DC and AC. Other than that good luck.

    Eric
  25. heat seeker

    heat seeker Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,128
    Loc:
    Northern CT
    If the fuse is good, I would look for a burned trace on the control board. If a trace is burned, it can be bypassed with wiring by someone who can solder on circuit boards.

    I agree, 15 amps is a rather large fuse for the application.

    A shorted triac would keep the ignitor on constantly, IMO. My money is on a burnt trace, or blown fuse.

Share This Page