Quadrafire castile Pellet feed rate

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

quadraman

Jan 21, 2008
Dalton, Pa
Ok I am a newb so go easy on me. This is my first season with my pellet stove and I seem to be having problems with my feed rate. I installed the stove myself and it seemed to be working ok when I ran the fan on medium however now that the winter has givien it;s first punch I cranked her up to high. In doing that I kept tripping the overheat disc #2. I looked to the manual and it suggested to adjust the feed rate. I noticed that the feed rate should leave a 4 inch flame above the fire pot with the fan on High. My stove seems to be bending the flames up across the heat exchanger when on high. I have the feed rate adjusted all the way down as far as it will go. This is stopped the overheating disc from tripping however the flame still seems to be a bit too tall. does anyone know if there is some adjustment I can make?

You could be getting an air leak someplace. Also what are you burning? 100% Pellets?

Have you been following the maintenance procedures in the manual, I think section 9.