Quadrafire CB 1200 questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

oly884

Dec 23, 2009
Woodinville, WA
For starters, I'm new to the world of pellets. I just picked up a Quadrafire Classic Bay 1200 and I have a question that some of you may be able to help with.

When I fired it up, it was great, but after a few hours I started to question the heat output on the unit. Nothing changed from when it fired up, but I pictured it throwing out more heat that it does right now.

When I looked at this thread:
https://www.hearth.com/econtent/index.php/forums/viewthread/48850/

I noticed that cncpro's normal flame height is MUCH MUCH larger than mine. My flame height barely makes it out of the firepot. It burns nice and fast, but it just seems "small" for being on the high setting. Furthermore, the flame height doesn't get much smaller on the medium or low settings, and the heat output doesn't seem to lower much.

I've tried playing with the feed rate adjustment in the hopper, and currently have it all the way towards the (+) sign, or opened up all the way. My simple guess is, it's simply not feeding enough into the firepot.

Has anyone experienced anything like this or know of a way to address this issue?

I've attached an image of the stove operating, the flame in the picture is about the highest I ever get in my stove. It's on the highest setting in this image.

The pellets I'm using are "Firemaster" pellets from QFC. I'm going to try some different pellets tonight to see if there's a difference, but other than that, I'm out of ideas.

Thanks for the help!

Attachments