1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Quadrafire Clear Control Box Blue Light Blinks 4 times and stove does not start?

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Don2222, May 3, 2014.

  1. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,101
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Quadrafire Clear Control Box Blue Light Blinks 4 times and stove does not start?

    Hello

    Cannot find this status light blinking msg, so does anyone know what it means?

    New clear control box blue light blinks 4 times - stove does not start.

    Quadrafire Contour new clear control box blue light blinks 4 times, the wood pellet stove does not start and the exhaust bower is running and red call light does not come on. The stove was working but ran out of pellets and pressing the reset button does not help.

    See video
    Last edited: May 3, 2014

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. bob bare

    bob bare Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,296
    Loc:
    park county montana
  3. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,101
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    The rotary switch is set for position 4 for the Castile/Contour model. Hmmm Thanks

    Well, I jumped the vacuum switch, and the Hi Limit switch and Feed motor still does not work. Then I pulled the auger and feed motor and put the AC test cord with the test molex connector on it.

    See video - The feed motor works! so now what?

    Last edited: May 3, 2014
  4. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,101
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Hello

    The key is that the red call light did not come on since the feed motor works!
    Well I check all the wiring and then jumpered out the T-Stat terminals on the back of the stove. The red call light came on and the stove worked!

    So I traced the T-Stat wiring and checked all the connections and they seemed fine. Then I pulled the T-Stat and though when was the last time I changed the batteries? I could not remember!

    Pic 1 - Feed motor test with AC test cord and molex test connector
    Pic 2 - Checked yellow T-Stat wires inside of stove
    Pic 3 - T-Stat wires go to wall box connector
    Pic 3 - T-Stat wires go to octagonal work box and the to T-Stat
    Pic 4 - T-Stat on wood circut box enclosure in shed
    Pic 5 - Batteries in T-Stat
    Pic 6 - Tester shows batteries are weak!

    Attached Files:

  5. bob bare

    bob bare Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,296
    Loc:
    park county montana
    On a quad no call light tstat is always first check.The clear box has a procedure to test all motors and ignitor,bottom of second page.Glad you got it running.
  6. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,101
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Yes

    Well, now I have another Contour I picked up to get running so I am definately up for it now. :)
    These Contours are such GEMs ! ! !
  7. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,913
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    Was this just to test us, Don, because I know you would check the call light first? I've posted a couple of times for people to check their thermostat batteries because they may light up the indicators but they don't have the power to pull in the relay.
  8. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,101
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Yes also to try and remember when I changed the batteries last. :) LOL

    Do you like the test connector? I wanted to try that too. LOL

    Also shows what a good stove it is.
    tjnamtiw likes this.
  9. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,913
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    Yea, that's a good SAFE way to test the motor! I like it. Beats sticking the two wires into the outlet! :)
    You WERE just borderline on the batteries and that's not measuring them under a load. I check my NICAD's on my model planes with a tester that puts them under load before every flight. Sometimes they look OK until you apply a load
  10. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,101
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Yes that is why the t-stat can fool us. I heard the relay click but not enough power to turn the call light on!
  11. bmfox

    bmfox New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Hello, i got a heatilator cab50 that is in the same status. It was low on pellets, a couple cups left in the hopper. I put a bag in and when it calls for heat all that runs is the vent fan. It blinks blue light four times, no auger movement, and the orange/red light on the side of the control box is on. I replaced tstat batteries, cleaned the auger shoot, cleaned the vacum line. Kinda puzzled. How do i test the auger motor? Could a snap disc gone bad? Dont have the manual, gotta download a new one.
  12. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,101
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Check to make sure the Vacuum line is securely on the barb on the stove. If the vacuum line falls off or is loose and leaks the auger will not turn. Then check the high limit switch, the one with the lttle red button between the wire contacts. Press the button, if that tripped, then the auger will not turn.
  13. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,913
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    And PLEASE do all that with the stove UNPLUGGED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  14. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3,988
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    Find the red wire coming from the control box, it goes to the vac switch, take a reading with your DMM off that and grounding out on the stove, no reading? Dead control board. Just played around with one today.
  15. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,101
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    What voltage should it be reading? What voltage scale should be set on the multi-meter?
  16. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3,988
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    coming out will be 118 or so but since your grounding to the frame it will be half of that.
  17. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,101
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Were you at the NEHPBA Convention? Great show, I did not cya?
  18. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3,988
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    Sorry dude. Got a company to run, little league coach and a wife to adore...so HPBA is going to have to wait in line.
  19. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,913
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    ???? Half??

Share This Page