1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Quadrafire issue

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Flem, Sep 13, 2013.

  1. Flem

    Flem Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Loc:
    Western MD
    Brand new Classic Bay insert just installed (properly with all connections good). Call light comes on when I turn thermostat up as it is suppose to. Stove will not drop pellets and exhaust fan continuously turns on and off every few seconds. Any ideas? Finding out the hard way that the company that sold it to me doesn't find it important to return phone calls or provide technical support - hence the post here. Any ideas?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Who did the install?
  3. stayfitz

    stayfitz Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    295
    Loc:
    Reno, NV
    I remember a very recent thread about error codes (flashing lights) on the CB1200i. I'll see if I can find it...
  4. Flem

    Flem Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Loc:
    Western MD
    Problem solved. Had to take control panel off test setting with the dial on side of control board. Any way to increase feed rate other than using manual feed adjustment? I have it opened all the way and fire is way too small.
  5. stayfitz

    stayfitz Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    295
    Loc:
    Reno, NV
    Great! Glad all is well now! Here was the thread/link - http://www.hearth.com/talk/threads/problem-with-new-quadrafire.113365/#post-1517015

    Not sure about alternate method of adjusting feed rate? I only know about the manual feed rod and the low/medium/high setting switch
  6. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,488
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    You have the control set to #1? If you change it to #2 you'll get 10% more. Shut it down and wait for it to cool. Unplug the stove and change setting to 2. Plug it back in and try it again.

    Could be the pellets you have now, If you get too much heat out of the next batch of fuel you'll need to change it back to #1.
  7. stayfitz

    stayfitz Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    295
    Loc:
    Reno, NV
    The manual feed rate rod adjustment should be done on the "high" rocker switch setting, at least according to the manual. Looking for 4"-6" flames above the burn pot.

    Agree that your issue could be pellet fuel related
  8. Jaymaine34

    Jaymaine34 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    239
    Could be a few reasons for a small flame ! All changes should be made on Hi . Waite 15 mins and adjust as needed .
    Funny thing I learned with my first cb1200 I had a small flame kept opening feed rate and didnt get any better . So with no other option I went the other way and started closing it . Go figure flame got bigger ! I figure the feed rate was smothering the fire ( to much pellets )
    Now I run it wide oped ( feed rate ) on low heat setting . Works like a charm !
    3 stoves later and I'm still learning .
    Papelletman and (deleted user) like this.
  9. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Yep. Dont think you HAVE to have a 6" flame. I ran mine on low for 5 yrs and heated my entire 2,180 sq ft Ranch. Low and Slow heat makes for more even temps and the stove is very quiet on low. I ran wide ope feed gate and low setting (on 10% after I found this site)

    Dont think you need a huge fire for heat. My flame rarely came over the edge of the pot.

    And 1 last thing. Pellet quality will play a large part in flame size. Some pellets are smaller than others and feed more per auger revolution. Along with better fiber, etc..
  10. Jaymaine34

    Jaymaine34 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    239
    Ok I've been looking and can't find the 10% . Feel like I'm missing something !
  11. Vinelife

    Vinelife Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    493
    Loc:
    Northern Michigan
    It's under warranty right ??
  12. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest


    The control board has a "Dial" on it. You must unplug the stove, remove the board, change setting, reinstall, plug back in and start up. Gives Low a little extra Umph! (Gives every heat setting 10% more, but I lile Low).
    CCF01162010_00002 (1).jpg 37069-87c7662638da828512502ab29e2f593e.jpg
    Papelletman likes this.
  13. Jaymaine34

    Jaymaine34 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    239
    Ok I see . Pictures always help ! Im not having any issues at this time so if it ain't broke don't fix it ??
  14. corkman

    corkman Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    389
    Loc:
    SE,Mass
    ive been looking thru the manual for a used quad cb 1200i that i bought recently and i dont see any mention of the control board settings.Dexter day posted this page from something.is there a install manual or tech manual available for this stove.
  15. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,101
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    X2

    Pos 3 is not used. :)

    The instruction sheet comes with a new control panel.

    See pics below - Click to Enlarge

    Attached Files:

  16. corkman

    corkman Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    389
    Loc:
    SE,Mass
    thanks don.the stove i just picked up seems to be set on 1 which is the correct setting for the cb1200 insert.im a little surprised this info isnt in the owners manual.also i saw nothing in the manual for gaining access to the auger motor which is in the hopper.
    would you have any suggestion on how to free up the cleaning rod on the right side.it is supposed to pull all the ways up but i can only get it to slide about a 1/3 of the way up on the tubes.2 of the tubes seem like they are closer toghether than they should be thus making it harder to slide the cleaning rod.i have it cleaned up real good and will hit it with compressed air 2moro and then the LBT to finish it off.then i can put motors back in and fire it up once before install.
    how about a recommendation on a liner.chimney is on an outside wall and i will need a 30ftr.there is so many out there to choose from im starting to get confused.Peace,Cork
  17. Papelletman

    Papelletman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    108
    Loc:
    Montgomery County, PA.
    Learned alot from this one, would never have thought to open the feed gate all the way, and had no clue about the 10% on the control box. Couple of questions for Jaymaine34 and DexterDay, and anyone else with quad tips, if you run it with the feed gate open all the way are you restricted to running it on low? If you switch it to medium or high is the flame to high? Same question for the control box adjustment.

    Also what type of pellet consumption do you see running this way on low? Same question here for the 10% also.

    Silly me was thinking of closing the feed gate to save pellets, but I can now see where running it wide open on low makes sense.
  18. Jaymaine34

    Jaymaine34 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    239
    Run mine on low 99% of the time . On the rare occasion I need a little more I go to medium . ( never use high )
    Pellet consumption wise I tend to use a little less this way ( compared to Years past )
    It's more of an even heat in the entire house . Got a good deal on a used cb1200 so I'm going to install another one in my basement ( that's 4 total ) I know the unit is in perfect shape ( because I cleaned it every week last year ) a family member is moving to California so a win for me !
    Just ordered 16 tons today so I'll have a total of 20 tons at 3 different undisclosed locations .

Share This Page