Quadrature 2700i Firebox Crack

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bwise.157

Burning Hunk
Oct 24, 2013
heath, ohio
Well, I just noticed that I have a crack along a weld along the front of my Quadrature 2700i wood burning insert. Quadrafire only offers a 3 year warranty on the firebox, and of course it is about 37 months since I bought the insert. Any suggestions on repair?

cb3b4ee59ec7375b689cff4ef9818448.jpg
55be8587b08b926dddec49a66719219f.jpg
b891abb8910412fa48997729e7d511b9.jpg

I'm no expert just thinking out loud but looks like an easy weld repair. It's fairly small and in a straight line. I'm thinking it could be re welded easy enough.

Also if your only 1 month out of warranty I would atleast try to make a claim. I know in the automobile world often if there is a major failure a couple of months or even a few thousand miles outside of warranty repairs sometimes get covered. Perhaps it's the same with stoves ? Worth a try

Yeah try a warranty claim. Heck of a place to crack. There is cooler air coming though that boost manifold plus the cooler airwash air is coming down on it.

All things considered it is an easy job for somebody with a portable stick welder.

I just noticed it today, when I was doing a more thorough cleaning since I wasn't burning. We have had warmer weather this week. It is cracked beside an existing weld. I have a stick welder, but I don't have any cords long enough to reach. I will contact the installer on Monday.