Question about not covering stacks

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

lfunk11

Jan 8, 2010
Morgantown, WV
I have been reading just about every post here since I have very little experience with getting wood, cutting it, splitting it, and finally stacking it. I see some people do not cover their stacks and I was wondering what they do when it rains? I have been in a rush to get the wood cut and stacked along with getting the stove and liner in, that I never got a chance to cover the stacks. I have been running the stove since Sunday since its been a bit chilly here and we are going to use it as our only heat source. So the last two days I have gone out to get some wood off the stacks and it is wet. It fires up without any real issues, but I would think I am losing some heat this way? Its not completely wet, but more on the top and ends.

Is there some process people use who do not cover their stacks or do they just deal with the wood being a little wet? I will eventually get the stacks covered, but until then I was looking for some advice. Not really interested in discussin covering vs not covering since I think that is more of a personal choice.

If the wet wood fires up that easy it must be seasoned so why not cover it? I would the top at least.

I burn shorties this time of year that are uncovered. I always have the next load sitting next to the stove. Refill the tub as soon as I reload the stove. Not sure that it really matters that much. Much more important is if it is dry on the inside.

savageactor7 said: