Question about Okanagan pellets

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jbmaine

Apr 4, 2009
USA
Hi all, I've read several posts about Okanagan pellets and most mention they come 1.3 tons per pallet. I have 4 tons of them for my stove and they were delivered on 4 pallets, 1 ton per pallet, all sealed in plastic. Is there more than one type of Okanagan pellet? The bags look like the pictures I've seen but I just want to make sure I've got the good pellets everyone talks about. Sorry if this is a dumb question. This is my first year with pellets and pellet stove and I'm still learning.
Thanks
JB

jbmaine said:
Hi all, I've read several posts about Okanagan pellets and most mention they come 1.3 tons per pallet. I have 4 tons of them for my stove and they were delivered on 4 pallets, 1 ton per pallet, all sealed in plastic. Is there more than one type of Okanagan pellet? The bags look like the pictures I've seen but I just want to make sure I've got the good pellets everyone talks about. Sorry if this is a dumb question. This is my first year with pellets and pellet stove and I'm still learning.
Thanks
JB

I'm sure BTU will take the lead on this question.....what say you, BTU???

jbmaine said:
Thanks
JB

I would bet they are the same, and were just sort of re-packaged to make them a ton versus 1.3 tons. The 1.3 tons were always priced as such, so if you bought 4 tons for $299/ton = $1196, you could have bought 3.9 tons for $299/ton = $1166.10.

BTU said: