Question about Scandia 308

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

lifeofriley

Oct 18, 2008
Ottawa
Well this is my first time posting so I hope I am doing this right. I had a question about a used stove that I just set up in my cabin. It is a Scandia 308 and apparently it is a copy of the old (70s perhaps) Vermont Castings Defiant. On the inside of the door it says 1979 Franklin Cast Products. I know (or have heard) that it is not a very good stove as far as stoves go but it seems to work pretty well and since it is a cabin and as long as it is safe (and since I only paid $100 for it) I thought I would use it for a few years until we could afford a nicer one. I have been trying to find a proper vent piece that comes straight off the top of the stove. The dimensions of the hole coming out (I measured the outside of the lip - unfortunately I did not measure the inside and the stove is not handy right now) is 10 1/2" (long ways) by 5 3/4" wide. I think the lip is close to 1/4 inch thick so I assume the inside measurement is about 10" x 5 1/4". It feeds into 6 inch single wall black vent pipe (Selkirk) and then exits out the wall and straight up (wall kit etc.) the gable end of the house (Selkirk SuperVent). Does anyone know where I might find one? I called a Vermont Castings place and the ovals on their newer stoves do not appear to be the same dimensions. I did get an 8 to 6 transition piece that I have managed to wedge in there just for one night when were there and desperate for heat. It worked pretty well but not a good longterm solution. Thanks Much.

lifeofriley said: