Question about small pellets and "re-bagged" pellets

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

md2002

Feeling the Heat
Oct 18, 2011
United States
I bought some Timber Heats from Lowes ( I left my review in a different thread) they're nice pellets for the price and I like them. When I opened this last bag I noticed there are some every small pellets in the bad. Since this is only my 3rd year with the stove I'm still learning. I was wondering the affect of small vs. big pellets. In other words is it better to have small pellets or big pellets? I do notice popping in the hopper is this from small pellets?.

My other question is that I keep hearing people talk about re-bagged pellets. What exactly does that mean? Is it the crap that they don't put in the good bags?

Small pellets usually burn faster if for no other reason than they fall true auger faster and some people have it getting their stove over feeding.

Oh and the rebagged? sounds to me like the ones from bags that were ripped open and swept up and dumped in bags?\\

Company buys quantity of pellets from manufacture and bags it under their own label.