Question For Our Resident Pellet Professors

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

fireitup

Oct 11, 2014
Waterbury, CT
How is it physically possible for heat output (I know, BTUs) to vary so dramatically between different pellets? They're all made with basically the same process. I'm sure there are variables in type of wood used, binder materials, moisture content, etc., but I still don't see how the output differences can be that drastic. I posted a while ago that Trae Heats gave me almost NO heat output; as a newbie I was surprised that low an output was even possible. So yesterday I burn a few bags of North American pellets from Dopey Depot, and literally the same thing, almost no heat. Woke up with the 2nd floor feeling on the cool side. Dislike them so much I'm returning the remaining 9 bags to get my cash back. Bought my first ton of Chow today from HD in Bristol. $249, no tax. Been burning Chow almost exclusively so far. I liked the FSUs too. With my Breckwell on 3 of 5 settings, I can't sit within 5' of the front of the stove with Chows burning, too hot. Ran the N. Americans all night long on 3 and was not impressed. So what's the scientific explanation for why some pellets suck and other's don't...:pLOL.

Moisture is one factor, the other factor is the density, the less moisture and the more density is the key to pellets burning hot and it does not matter if it's softwood or hardwood.

I have had some of both softwood and hardwood that have produced next to no heat, yet other brands that produce so much heat that I've had to turn the stove down or off.