Question on Rutland Burn Indicator

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by chutes, Oct 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chutes

    chutes
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    CT
    I picked up a magnetic thermometer. Same one mentioned in this post by DiscoInferno here:
    http://www.hearth.com/econtent/index.php/forums/viewthread/25762/#271390

    My question is, can I or can I not use this on an insert? I attached it to the top of the insert (which obviously was quite hot during my break in fire), but the needle didn't budge. The thermometer came with a wire that I am not using, because the limited instructions talk about wrapping that wire around the pipe. Obviously, that would be possible with a stand alone, but I cannot do that with my insert. Am I suppose to use that wire, and, if so, how? If I'm just supposed to stick it to a metal part of the stove, then mine appears not to work.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. begreen

    begreen
    Expand Collapse
    Mooderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    60,697
    Likes Received:
    7,683
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    The location depends on the insert. What model is this?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. chutes

    chutes
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    CT
    Sorry. I should add that to my siggy. It is a Pacific Insert.

    But - I did locate it based upon a picture that I saw on the board (though I can't find it now), and after reading a post by Brother Bart who performed an outdoor test, testing the top of the insert vs. the door. But, even on a hot surface the needle does not move. This makes me think that either it isn't working, or I need to use the wire (somehow) that came with it.

    Or, I just don't know what I'm talking about, which is entirely possible.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. begreen

    begreen
    Expand Collapse
    Mooderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    60,697
    Likes Received:
    7,683
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    There isn't a lot of room for placing a thermometer on this insert. The best location is on the front face of the stove in the corner just above the door.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart
    Expand Collapse
    Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    32,445
    Likes Received:
    9,641
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    As to the question of whether it is working or not, put it on a shelf in the kitchen oven and see if it shows the same temp as the oven at 450 degrees.

    If not, back to the store it goes. I got a bad one once and the woman at the Ace store asked what was wrong with it. I told here it wouldn't thermom. She gave me a strange look and went and got me another and and said she hoped this one thermomed OK.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. chutes

    chutes
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    CT
    It must be that I'm not asking my question right, so my apologies - but my question is not about placement, it is about the device itself. New, out of the box, it comes with a thin wire that is separate from the unit. The instructions - which are very limited - say something to the effect of running that wire around the pipe, but I believe that is to secure the device and for no other reason. If I put this thing on the door (which I have tried, along with the top) the needle does not move. And we are talking about a very hot surface. Do I need that wire? If not, should I assume this is broken?

    Basically, should just attaching this magnetic Rutland Burn Indicator to a hot surface make the needle move? That's what I'm doing, but it never moves...
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  7. chutes

    chutes
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    CT
    Didn't think about that. I'm trying that now. Thanks. I'm guessing I don't need that wire and that if this thing doesn't register on this stove, it is back to, believe it or not, Ace hardware....

    Thanks
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. ScottF

    ScottF
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Southern NH

    That is too funny!! Love it. Got a giggle out of that one.
     
  9. fossil

    fossil
    Expand Collapse
    Accidental Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    10,528
    Likes Received:
    2,412
    Loc:
    Bend, OR
    Yes. Rick
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  10. chutes

    chutes
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    CT
    Now I understand why my wife says that I talk too much. I should've just stuck to that one sentence.

    Thank Rick
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart
    Expand Collapse
    Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    32,445
    Likes Received:
    9,641
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    The wire is only for folks that stick the thermo on a stove pipe. Heat kills magnets so you wire it to the pipe so that it won't fall on the floor and burn something or somebody.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  12. fossil

    fossil
    Expand Collapse
    Accidental Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    10,528
    Likes Received:
    2,412
    Loc:
    Bend, OR
    Could be the little pointer just got stuck, if it got mashed against the face of the thing. If you can't move it freely a bit with a your finger, try bending it out away from the face just a smidge with something really thin and see if you can free it up to move. Rick
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  13. Nic36

    Nic36
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Decatur, Alabama
    Yeah, the wire is to tie it around the stove pipe so it won't accidentally fall. Sounds line yours is malfunctioning if the needle doesn't move at all.

    I just bought one two days ago and it seems to be reading about 100 degrees more than it should. (I tested it in my oven)I didn't have wire in the package with mine, so I bet someone had already returned it once.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page