Questions about newly installed Englander 25-PDVC

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Poitoy

Feb 19, 2015
Virginia
Hello all! I'm new to pellet stoves and installed one on a friend's glowing recommendation of her old stoves. I've been lurking around the forum to find answers before posting questions. I've been learning a lot! Hoping you all don't mind if I missed something already asked.

We installed the Englander PDVC ourselves with the OAK, an outside clean-out tee, 3 ft horizontal then 9 ft vertical run of Dura-vent (to meet all the termination clearances) and high-temp silicone between *most* of the joints. The joints we didn't put silicone between, we wrapped with silicone tape wherever we saw smoke using the flashlight test. Immediately after it lights, we were still smelling smoke, now coming from the seams of the inside horizontal pieces. So we added high-temp silicone to all the seams as well. Now we're waiting for that to cure before firing it up again...anyone know how long that needs to be?

We first lit it 5 days ago, burning for 6-12 hours each day. The first day the paint/chemical smell chased us out...whew! Since then, it's not nearly as strong, but we still need a box fan in a window pulling it out (which is kind of negating the heat from the stove...at single digit temps and below here). It doesn't seem to be decreasing... Do these things just take a while to cure? Or could it be coming from the vent pipe? We don't see smoke after it really gets burning, but the smell is constant while lit.