1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Questions for a Quadrafire Tech re CB1200-i

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by DBCOOPER, Aug 28, 2011.

  1. DBCOOPER

    DBCOOPER Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    384
    Loc:
    Stowe, Pa
    The manual has a graph for EFP that maxes out at 30 feet. Is that the maximum equivalent that you could have? Does the the 30 feet have an equivalent in static pressure? Second question is regarding feed rate times. The service manual list feed time values. My unit has control box (digital style w/jumper) part number 230-2080. Are the feed times adjustable with that part number?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,615
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    Just had to say hi, DB, when I saw the 'Stowe, Pa'.. Born and raised in Pottstown on N. Keim. I'm a Yankee in 'Rebel-land' now.
  3. DBCOOPER

    DBCOOPER Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    384
    Loc:
    Stowe, Pa
    That would be a damn yankee....
  4. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    What year is your stove? I do not think they are adjustable. My stove is an 08. The Control Box looks nothing like one of a Santa Fe I seen that had several set screws that could be turned and adjust diferent settings (OLD Thread).

    Whats the Problem? What are you trying to do?
  5. imacman

    imacman Guest

    If you want an answer from someone that knows for sure, send a PM to Eric ("Kinsman Stoves")....he is a certified tech and sells Quads.
  6. DBCOOPER

    DBCOOPER Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    384
    Loc:
    Stowe, Pa
    No real problem. I have the feed rate control rod set to minimum because when its set on high the flame is to high. That in turn makes low to low. Just want to fine tune if I can.
    The question about the exhaust piping is related to slowing down the exhaust to maybe get a better heat exchange. Right now I only have about 7 feet equivalent.
  7. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    If its to low on low. Why not try setting the slide when its on Medium?? I run mine Wide open on low 24/7 90% of the time. Unless its below 0 or in the shoulder season.. I have never used the high setting and for 3 years I have heated 2,180 sq ft Ranch.
  8. DBCOOPER

    DBCOOPER Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    384
    Loc:
    Stowe, Pa
    There are times I want to run it on high, like fast recovery from setback.
  9. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    You run it on the thermostat all the time?

    I run mine on the thermo for Nov and March/April (shoulders). But for the duration of Winter, its on Low 24/7. Keeps the whole house at 75-76* (2,180 sq ft Ranch). Saves the ignitor, less swing in temp throughout house and in the tests I have done, saves pellets (vs Med/High on thermo). The ignitor gets used at least 20-30 times a day in the dead of winter. My 1st year I went thermostat all year. The last 2. I have ran it on Low (have to adjust the slide a little when its warmer (20-30*). But for the most part I try not to use High. Most stoves are not designed to run on High for extended periods. Will warp and Overfire the unit. High heat for over 1.5-2 hrs is Max. Even when I use the thermo stat I only use Low or Med, to keep temps more regulated, the longer it takes to heat the house, the more even the temp will be and the stove runs longer and reduces the use of the Ignitor. I just replaced mine after 3 seasons. It still worked, but I had 2 mis fires at the end of the season (it wasn't because the stove was dirty/im anal about having a clean stove). Its better to be safe than sorry. I kept the old one just in case. But I also have another new one on stand -by along with a few extra parts (blowers, thermo couple, door gasket, etc).
    Talk to Eric (kinsmanstoves), he would know more about it. The Quads only being On/Off and not Hi/Low is another reason I want to get another stove. Till then, its 24/7 running. (I burn about 4 ton a year and use no furnace/this is my 1st year with the woodstove. The Pellet stove was the only source of heat for 3 seasons. Have not used the LP furnace since buying it. $4,000 a ur in LP or $800 year in Pellets. No brainer)

Share This Page