Questions from a total newbie. Looking to buy our first HE fireplace.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

howard2015

Nov 5, 2015
NE Oklahoma
Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to the forum and doing some research that I hope you all can help me out with.

We are in the process of building a new home and are trying to choose the right fireplace. My brother in law has the Fireplace Xtrordinair 44 Elite and he raves about it, so we have had our eye on the 36 Elite (hearth isn't wide enough for the 44).

Here are my concerns...

We are building a 2 story 2800 square foot home. The fireplace is on the lower floor in the living room, all bedrooms, are upstairs. The choice to go with this (much) more expensive fireplace is going to boil down to whether or not it can actually heat the whole home (not just downstairs) at night when we go to bed. Growing up we had a fireplace, but if you weren't standing within 5 feet you couldn't feel the heat. Granted, that was 30 years ago and a regular old box in the wall.

So can you help guide me to the right choice? If we aren't going to benefit from the savings on the heating bill during the winter while sleeping then it doesn't make sense financially to spend this much, we should just get something that will heat the living room.