Questons about first burn Starving for air? any suggestions?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone I am new to wood burning and just had a new Regency i1200 installed. From what I read I should burn it a few times to cure/season the stove.
Last night and again today I tried to light a fire. I used a purchased starter solution, small wax cup filled with wax and chips. Placed my wood around it so it would catch and lit it, then pretty much closed the door. I set the draft to full which is pulled to the left when looking at the stove. It burned for about the length of the starter then smouldered and snuffed out.

I noticed when burning it seemed that the unit was filling up with smoke so much that I could watch the smoke fall down by the airwash and speed it up and down by adjusting the draft.

I noticed alot of condensation on the sides of the metal on the inside of the stove firebox ( when I could see through the smoke)

I questioned the dryness of the wood.
-------

On my second attempt today I choose different wood lit the fire the same way but after about 10 minutes it was not looking very promising either so I carefully cracked the door (no smoke entered house) and within minutes the fire was raging. I left it like that for about 5-10 minutes then slowly closed the door the fire slowly snuffed itself out.

I looked in the manual and did not see anywhere where the air intake is so that I could check to see if there is packaging that may be lodged or check for when the stove cools down.