RE: Idiot's Guide to Woodburning Terminology?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

firefighterjake

Minister of Fire
Jul 22, 2008
Unity/Bangor, Maine
Newbie here . . . I did a search, but couldn't find any terminology guides. Some stuff I've figured out as I've perused threads . . . some stuff I have an idea about and some stuff I have no clue.

Top Down Method: I'm guessing this is a method for lighting a fire?

Down Draft, Up Draft: I'm guessing this is the way the draft moves in the woodstove?

Signed Firefighter "Dazed and Confused with Bleary Eyes from Reading All These Threads" Jake

firefighterjake said:
Ooh, I know that, even though I'm a newbie :)

Yes, you put the big pieces on the bottom, and then kindling, and then tinder/firestarter on the top. Everything will magically light up without collapsing onto itself, as often happens if you put a big pile of kindling on top of your tinder, and then later try to put logs on it once it's going.

Not sure if you are into snowmobiling but the "Top down Method" is common in the snowmobile world. You chug a beer on the trail from the top down to the bottom. There is a snowmobile website that explains this in detail. sledmaine.com :lol:

I think this site could be refered to as the 'Idiots guide'.
dont be overwhelmed man.
take it a little at a time...... my head was swimming as i laid in bed at night rehashing all i read that day on here.
little at a time...lots of simple, common sense stuff that you just need to realize, and you will once you get going. liek the top down.. you had a basic idea already.