RE: Lots of lessons to be learned here . . .

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Goodness sakes. What a story. Glad everybody lived!

Complacency? That's my thoughts after the guy said "I've been running a chainsaw for 55 years."

My daughter recently got her learners permit. I was very nervous about letting her drive but soon realized, although she is not driving smoothly she is so alert, cautious, and focused on the task at hand that we were probably more likely to be in an accident if I were driving.

I use chain saws all the time for firewood, and last year built a log cabin using 2 Sthils and a Husqvarna, ran those saws about 2 hours a day for 10 months.
You had better respect them for they surely are dangerous.
Fifteen years ago I was cutting brush, had just let off on the trigger and the big Stihl was just going to idle when it brushed against my left thigh.
What a mess! Got 34 big stitches and the chain was barely moving.

That man from Maine is so lucky, the chain just missed the arteries in his neck.

What safety gear prevents this? My sthil has a chain brake I think would have stopped it if I had both hands on the saw right? go folks cut with a full face mask?

Chain brake doesn't always work . . . depends on the situation.

Some folks have been known to disable that feature . . . I know my father used to run a saw for years without a chain brake. I don't recall why, but I think it was something to do with keeping the saw running and he just didn't have the money to fix it at the time.