Ready to go with the c450 kennebec

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Rudyjr

Feeling the Heat
Nov 25, 2008
Central Ohio
Does anyone know if the Jotul Kennebec can be used with the doors open like a fireplace? I know that they do not seem to list a fire screen but I am a welder and think it would be easy to fabricate one. The wife says that it would be nice to be able to occasionally have a smaller fire with the doors open when you did not need the heat. It seems that the only issue would be with not drawing properly.
Also would like to know if there is anything to look out for when purchasing stainless flexible chimney liner kits. HVAC friend says his supply house carries 25' 6" dia kits for $325.00 . Seems to be a good price from what I have seen as long as it is the correct thing to use. I believe it is made by Flex-l and is called Stayflex. Any info appreciated.

Rudyjr said:
Does anyone know if the Jotul Kennebec can be used with the doors open like a fireplace? I know that they do not seem to list a fire screen but I am a welder and think it would be easy to fabricate one. The wife says that it would be nice to be able to occasionally have a smaller fire with the doors open when you did not need the heat. It seems that the only issue would be with not drawing properly.

The manual doesn't permit using it with the doors open - leaving them open doesn't allow the secondaries to run, and they wouldn't get EPA approval if they allowed it in the manual. That said, it doesn't mean it won't work, if the set up is ideal.