Ready to Join The Gang - Time For a Wood Stove!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Log Splitter

Oct 6, 2016
New York
(just realized how long this was! If you don't want to read, check the TLDR summary at bottom)

Hello gang. I've been lurking for a while, and appreciate all of the useful information these forums have to offer. Here's my story:

I grew up in NY, about an hour North of NYC. Once I graduated college, I moved down to Florida. 6 years later, we're back in New York, and this is the first time we'll be here as home owners during a winter!

My house is currently heated through oil and forced air. It's a 1200 sq ft home with an unfinished basement. Not important to focus on heating the basement, but rather the upstairs living area. We currently have a fireplace located at one end of the home where the living room/dining room/kitchen are all relatively open to each other. Then a long hallway, and then the 3 beds and bathroom. Standard raised ranch type layout.

DIMENSIONS:
The opening for my masonry fireplace now is 42" wide by 31" high. The bottom depth is 24.5". The rear high is 15" and width is 28". My current hearth is a little over 16". The chimney runs throughout the exterior of the house. Would need a liner to run from stove up the chimney.

We just did a major tree clearing in our backyard, so we're pretty set with wood. Much of it will need to season for next year, but we should have close to enough to work for this year.

Past records indicate this house goes through 800-1000 gallons per winter.

Here is what I'd like to be able to do: