Reasonably inexpensive stack thermometer

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ddahlgren

Minister of Fire
Apr 18, 2011
SE CT
i need a stack thermometer and want a probe type. I know it has been asked before but maybe there are better solutions since the last answer. I used to have a high end one from way back when I was an oil heating tech, still have my state license for that matter. i can not find it after looking for hours. I moved my shop about seven years ago and do remember moving the tune up kit tool box that it was in. I doubt I would have thrown it out but oh well. I have little faith in the stick on magnetic or IR heat gun either as that is skin temp not stack temp. I want to keep the stack gases at the right temp not the outside of the pipe unless that is more important to help prevent creosote. Any guidance appreciated. If there is a good magnetic one it would be simpler as nothing to do but look at it. The local tractor supply has magnetic ones Rutland I think are they any good if skin temp the most important.
Dave

Are you using single or double wall stove pipe?

pen

I like using this one:
http://www.teltru.com/p-272-big-gre...ter-lt225r-5-inch-stem-2001000-degrees-f.aspx

Accurate and fast response.