Rebuild Overfired Cawley 800?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Hike Hounds

Sep 23, 2016
New Jersey
Hello all,

I just bought a fixer-upper that has a Cawley 800 that failed inspection. At the very least, the baffle needs to be replaced, but I suspect it will be more involved. I am a complete newbie to wood stoves, but I'd like to heat my home with it if possible.

My question is, considering that it will cost almost $3000 to have a new wood stove installed (this is New Jersey), is it worth having the Cawley 800 repaired/restored? Considering the efficiency of new wood stoves and the new EPA guidelines, is the Cawley just an old lady that needs to be put out to pasture?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Welcome. In it's day this was a decent stove, but that was quite a while ago. Parts may be hard to come by and there may be other damage we don't know about. If there is serious cracking it may be time to scrap the old stove. What are the particulars of the inspection failure?

The chimney requirements to install the Cawley are going to be similar to a new stove and a good new stove can be had for a thousand or less. What makes up the other $2000? Pictures are always helpful.

PS: Do you have a good, fully seasoned wood supply already? Tell us more about the house you are trying to heat.

Thanks for the quick reply!

According to the inspection report, the side doors are warped and don't close all the way. The rear baffle is warped and there's a crack in the baffle plate from over-firing. And the door gaskets are worn. But the 8" flue is okay.