reburner

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

zee081302

Jan 15, 2008
northwestern pennsylvania
Hello all! Awesome place we have here! I am relatively new to both hydronic heating and wood burning. I am not an engineer, but I am a damned good mechanic.at any rate i have a weil mclain gv6 "twinned" with an old style round over round wood add-on boiler. i would like to build an afterburner or reburner. i have plenty of room from the exit at the back of the woodie to the thimble. even have a nice concrete shelf to put it all on. i have access to free materiels (fire brick,plate,pipe etc) everything but the materials to make a catalytic afterburner. platinum is a bit out of my price range lol. i have been reading your forums and didnt find anything specific. apologies if i missed it. thanks in advance for any/all input.

I am curious as to why you would need an after burner. I have operated and maintained a marine incinerator with a package oil burner located in the stack but it was primarily to burn any garbage trying to escape. It seems to me that if you want to make sure there is no unburned fuel going up the stack you should think about something simple like going with a wood gasifier. But hey, I like seeing somebody with an imagination trying to make it work. Keep us posted.

Can you post a pic?