Recomendations Welcome for Zero Clearance Fireplace 1879 Farmhouse

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Haystack

Mar 25, 2013
WI
Hey Guys,

I've been researching for a few years on which route to go for a little extra warmth from my firewood. I was looking at an outdoor wood burner which I may go with down the road but I don't think that's something I want to invest in right now as I'd also need to buy some land from the neighbor to have a place to put it. I have a Victorian style farmhouse built in 1879 in southeastern Wisconsin. The farmhouse had insulation blown in the walls 10-15 years ago along with having the attic insulated. 10 years ago the owners put a 2,200 square foot addition on to the original 1,800 square foot house. Right now it's a fixer upper for me, but I'd like to find a Mrs some day and fill it up a bit. Right now with just me and the critters I close off the upstairs of the original house for the winter. The addition has a open faced vermont castings zero clearance fireplace. I'm guessing it's a Menards special that was originally around $1,000. The back brick is cracked, the log rack has actually melted away in the rear, and it and the brick used for the surround and hearth just doesn't fit the look of the rest of the house. I believe it's a 42" wide unit and uses an 8" chimney, it drafts well and will really heat up the room it's in and the rest of the house in mild weather, but it eats wood like there's no tomorrow.