Recommendations for my fireplace

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

LakeFall

Nov 22, 2019
Raleigh, North Carolina
I'm new to wood burning and have a fireplace that I would like to put an insert in. I'd like something that could potentially heat the whole house (1900 sq ft), low maintenance, and looks good. I was hoping the 2 story room that the fireplace is in would help let warm air rise to the 2nd floor and the cooler air would fall back down. Are there inserts that have thermostats that can vary fan speed to keep temperature steady? How about tying the system into the existing thermostat and using the aux heat controls to adjust fan speed and also run the central air blower to circulate air to every room? My budget isn't limitless but I do prefer value over price.

FP.jpg

I’m surprised the BK fan club hasn’t jumped on this. Blaze King, a big maker of catalytic woodstoves, has three inserts that have a thermostatic control. It doesn’t regulate the fan but rather the air allowed into the firebox. They’re touted for maintaining even heat and having long burn times. Every year there’s a massive “Blaze King Performance Thread” (or two or three), so you could visit that and ask for pictures or info from insert users. There aren’t as many of them, but the numbers have been growing.

It could be a good stove for a North Carolina climate. We had bought a Princess Insert in Virginia but had to relocate before we ever installed it. It would be worth researching, though, and this may bump your thread back to the top and get you some other suggestions as well.